Two Ingredient Beer Bread in the Microwave

Yep, I did it. Bread in the microwave with all of 2 ingredients. It’s quite easy. And it took 15 minutes, start to finish.

I have that infamous 4 quart Corningware casserole dish that I use for everything in the microwave. I greased it with butter, poured in 2 and 2/3 cups self rising flour, a 12 oz. can of beer, mixed it up, tossed it in the microwave for 10 minutes and ta-da! A simple white bread in the microwave. And you can add a zillion ingredients to make it interesting. Cheese, herbs, onions….go crazy, experiment, explore.

Since there is so much yeast in beer, (and I am limited on supplies and have no means of getting to the store 20 miles from here), there really is no need for yeast, baking soda, etc. But, the best part came next.

I have so many cooked black beans from when I made chili the other evening. So, I’m making myself some black bean burgers. (Mush the black beans and add breadcrumbs, again add any additional spices you prefer. Cumin would rock). The beer bread was the bun, toasted lightly with a touch of butter. Delicious. Economical. Quick. And! I forgot to mention. I had some carrots. I cooked them down in the microwave in some water until soft, mashed them up with some nutmeg and butter, and they didn’t taste that far off from sweet potatoes. Yum. You see? 4 or 5 measly ingredients in the pantry can get you an awesome lunch for nothing. Be creative.

Leave a Reply

