Solid Connection

So after a good few weeks of no reliable internet, I now have a solid connection and finally have the opportunity to respond (in general) to all the best wishes I received. I did my damndest to respond to all of them, but upon responding to 20, another 20 would pop into my inbox. After nearly 300 comments to moderate, and even more emails in my Etsy account, I decided I simply couldn’t spend the hours responding to everyone, as much as I wanted to. (Now, I know why Oprah never responded to my letter). So, the best that I can do, with this hellishly huge grin, is bow my head and whisper quietly to myself, “There are beautiful people out there….I feel a thousand hugs right now.”

Mario and I are safe until October 1. We may not stay here that long, but we are accommodated until at LEAST that day (Thank you, Katrina).

I am currently looking for long term digs. I have all ideas I’ll find them. I got this little cat I need to think about. Her safety, her welfare.

The worst thing about not having an internet connection has been losing touch with people I’ve grown to love across the planet, people with whom I’ve enjoyed a wonderful correspondence. Deborah, Trasi, Mrs. Hinds, Di, Susan in the U.K (What the hell is going on over there????), Peter in Austria (hope he loves the mouse I sent him), and a slew of others that have kept me fed, loved, and encouraged for the past months.

I’m 7 bears shy of 100. One-freakin-hundred. How amazing is that? At the start of this year, I was scrounging pennies, tossed to the woods, living on hope, prayer. And if those things aren’t powerful enough, then I beg of anyone here to respond with a reason there is no God. The power of hope and prayer got me out of the woods and back into the world, reminded me that I was PART of the world. And here it is, 8 months later, 7 months after opening my shop on Etsy with the last $2 I had to my name and I’m loved. I get to eat. I get to have clean clothes. I get to sleep away from the elements. One hundred bears.

I’m working on the book still. “Will Knit for Food.” The second installment in my “Mad Man Knitting” series. I hope to have it done by October. I’m anxious for anyone and everyone to read how life went sour, and how a teddy bear saved my life.

Its just shy of 6:30 EST. I have a MILLION emails to respond to, then back to knitting up some more bears. Anyone want one?

28 comments

  1. I’m so glad your situation is settled! isn’t that a lovely feeling?

    I finally checked my mail & found your bear waiting for me; he’s ADORABLE and I don’t think I can bring myself to give him away — totally keeping him for myself =) And thank you for the extra surprise! I may just frame it.

  2. HIYA!!!!!!!!!!! I gave you the thumbs up through my etsy account for my 3 bears. I am VERY excited. But I’m sure my soon to be 2 year old nephew will be even MORE excited. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hugs from Atlanta
    Liz

  3. just dropped by to say hi! Sent you an e-mail. This post is my answer. take care and get some rest while you’re in a safe place.

  4. Gregory, I’m so please to read that you are safe and happy. I love your positive attitude. Why don’t you submit your books, or parts of them with photos to the knitting magazines. Maybe one of them will pick it up and run with it. I know it would make for interesting reading. My prayers are with you.
    Mark from MWK (ilhiker)

    1. I read your email just recently about hiking and meditating on the idea of little Mario and I. Are you aware of what the power of that simple thought has done? Can you imagine, that perhaps by realities design, that sending that simple thought into the universe has potentially saved my life???? Others picked up on, spread the word, came to aid of a little guy with a (….piss, where is she???) cat. (I get nervous when I don’t see her…..I fear the safety of my yarn).
      Much LOVE,
      Gregory

  5. Soooooo much LOVE to you both!! Keep on shining!!

    Some wisdom and hope for you:

    I am me

    In all the world,
    there is no one else exactly like me –
    everything that comes out of me is authentically mine,
    because I alone choose it – I own everything about me – my body, my feelings, my mouth, my voice, all my actions,
    whether they be to others or to myself –
    I own my fantasies, my dreams, my hopes, my fears –
    I own all my triumphs and successes, all my failures and mistakes. Because I own all of me, I can become intimately acquainted with me – by so doing I can love me and be friendly with me in all my parts –
    I know there are aspects about myself that puzzle me,
    and other aspects that I do not know –
    but as long as I am friendly and loving to myself,
    I can courageously and hopefully look for solutions to the puzzles and for ways to find out more about me –
    However I look and sound, whatever I say and do,
    and whatever I think and feel at a given moment in time is authentically me – If later some parts of how I looked, sounded, thought and felt turned out to be unfitting, I can discard that which I feel is unfitting, keep the rest, and invent something new for that which I discarded –
    I can see, hear, feel, think, say, and do.
    I have the tools to survive, to be close to others, to be productive,
    and to make sense and order out of the world of people and things outside of me –
    I own me, and therefore I can engineer me –
    I am me &

    I AM OKAY

  6. We have missed and worried about you. Glad you are safe. It is nice to hear someone speak of God and prayer in a public forum. Best Wishes and good luck with getting to 100 Bears.

    1. I’ve been reading your emails about the knitting retreat! I soooo wish I could go. I’ll be popping over to the MWK website shortly to post and check some messages. Thanks for thinking of me, man! I really appreciate it!

  7. Gregory, I am so glad to hear that you have a safe place to be for a while. And I am so glad you have enjoyed hearing from all the great people across the globe that can share in your story, give you some hope and hold you up when you needed a hand. Let me know if I can send that yarn your way because I would love for you to have it.
    Liz

  8. Still following and reading – so glad to hear that you’re sheltered until at least October 1 and headed for Bear Number 100. πŸ™‚ Your positivity is so encouraging, so glad I found your Blog!

  9. So happy to see your post and seeing Mario is a bonus! Bear 100 has to be an amazing bear.. the bear that tips the scales to the fabulous side. So many amazing things are in your future. Keep envisioning what you want, and be clear to the universe your intentions! Thoughts become things.. and you are defiantly choosing the good ones! Gregory you are an amazing being! Keep your heart full of love and know if it gets drained there are those of us here that will help fill it up again. Yay for knitting, Yay for bears Yay for life!! And Yay for Mario!

  10. Hi Gregory and Mario.. so glad to hear you guys are both safe and homed for a while. My, what a CUTE cat Mario is.. I am with Erin, I am so happy to have found your blog…when I get my bear from you, each time I look at it or give it a hug, I will be reminded of your faith, compassion and positive spirit. Clare

  11. Glad that you and Kitty are in safe havens. Good things and bad things keep happening, and a mans best friend is STILL his bear.

  12. I am so happy that the two of you are safe until October! You have both been in my thoughts quite a bit. I’d love elephants. Ever made one? Can it be pink? I’d buy four.

  13. Yay! Thank you! And I’m not joking about buying four. The elephants have significant meaning for me and my friends. I know you are busy with the bear a thon so I can wait for my elephants.

Leave a Reply

