Barley Bear

I like this one. I really do. I’m going to make this my new design, I think. I was looking for some new material to play with should I decide to go back to knitting more teddy bears, and I have to say, this little guy came out quite nice. A nice brown speckled with hints of creme and flecks of black, makes him look like that old fashioned teddy bear that sat on a chair in the corner of a young one’s room, solidly protecting dreams and laughter from any harm. If you’d like to adopt him, click here. He’s made of acrylic, so he can be tossed in the wash, and the perfect size for lugging around on your arm. Yes, I do think this Barley Bear (named after the yarn from LionBrand) will be my new classic.

Been busy finishing up the book. First draft will go to Judy and Tim who will both give me some great editing advice I’m sure, but I have to say, I’m ready for it to be done….I’ve been cranky a little, reliving on paper those six months living in the woods, and the whole homeless ordeal. I’m ready to have those memories put to rest.

Hope everyone is well, I’ll be back in blogging form in about a week or so.

Gregory

5 comments

  1. patrick..came home this afternoon and lo and behold i had recieved the bear i ordered from you. i am not sure of the color tone..but i love the brown he is done in. I have been crocheting for over 25 years and knitting for 8 years…- taught german knitting by a little german lady ( she is in knitting heaven now ). She was meticulous on her knitting and taught me accuracy versus speed was the ideal goal. i have looked at this bear..from ear tip to paws..and there is not one single mistake i can see in the construction. the knitting is even throughout the whole piece. You have done a wonderful job with your bears and my friend will love this one. Now i have to order me one!!! Just again, thank you for the bear and the time and love you put into it. he is a adorable little fellow. Now should i crochet/ knit an ensemble for him to be presented in ? lol. Thanks again !,

  2. Gregory Patrick — you sweet man! I was feeling so sad because I thought I had missed all chance of getting one of your bears. Everytime I saw one he was already gone. Not to mention feeling worried, and kind of guilty, for wanting you to knit with the physical difficulties you’ve been having. But I got the Barley Bear! Yay!!

    I will be waiting, avidly (isn’t that a good word?) for your new book. Just remember to stretch slowly, breathe deeply and get up and walk around for a minute or two every hour or so. Writing is as bad as knitting for your neck and back.

    Take care of yourself and know that I send you all good thoughts and wishes!

  3. I like BarleyBear a lot … but I’m being a very good kid this month and refraining from ordering, aren’t you proud?! Looking forward to the book draft!
    x0x0x0x0x

Leave a Reply

