Come Share My Table

I’m awfully fond of Sunday evening.

Little rituals let life move in ways that remind us that with simple gestures, grand moments are thought about, considered. Our souls become greater with small things we do with our little moments and actions.

I’ve always had this idea in my head that I would love to have a large family, or collection of friends to have Sunday dinner with. There’s something about communion and fellowship that comes with that. That a large table, filled with smile, laughter, discussion and companionship yields itself to pushing away pain, loneliness, or troubles. That here at this table, bountiful home cooked food at the plenty, reminds each of us with a simple action that the human community is closer than we think, that family is more a question of commitment, rather than genealogy. So, I’ve always wanted that big Sunday dinner with friends, whom I call family, sitting about in great celebration of remembrance and joy, of passing a plate to another in offering, in compliments of laughter broken out randomly. (When was the last time you complimented someone on their laugh???)

And then, as we all sit with full belly, full hearts, we remember we came to this table out of appreciation, not out of obligation. That those we become close to are for reasons we’ll never understand, but that our closeness is never out of force. That we hold each other in our own hearts and thoughts because we care, because we feel something, not because its expected. That a simple dinner becomes something greater: an act of love.

So, my little Sunday ritual is a touch different. For instance, tonight? Tonight I sat down with a grand bowl of black beans and rice. And my fellowship was in thought. I thought about all of you. I’m often thinking of you. But, on Sunday nights when I have my biggest meal of the week, I think about us. And that little, simple bowl of black beans and rice becomes a moment of love, for I wouldn’t have it without you. And though I may not be at a table sharing it with you, in my heart we’re all sitting together, being together, sharing this strange world and our lives in it together. So, I wanted to thank you for being a part of this simple man’s journey. Simple things lead to greater moments…..They do. I promise you, they do.

The OTHER ritual I have on Sunday is a peek at a few episodes of “The Vicar of Dibley.” I don’t have a television, but I do get to watch some stuff online, but generally, its things I’m looking for. I like watching “The Vicar of Dibley” on Sunday, not necessarily for the obvious reason, but the show does make me feel safe, thoughtful of kindness, and to never forget that a certain grand brilliance is moving through every slight gesture we do. Its a nice way to close the week, to further soften any quiet Sunday, and find a sense of peace before the malaise of Monday shows itself. Not to mention, I find it an incredibly funny show šŸ™‚

So! If you’re up for it, and wanna hang out for the night with me, watch an episode with me. I’ll be sitting here knitting while watching, chuckling here and there, and finding a certain calm….and spending time with you in my own little way.

I’m still trying to get rent paid up. But, tonight I’ll go to bed with a full belly, full heart….and hopeful.

I’m hopeful something good is gonna happen…..

7 comments

  1. You can come share my table any time you’re in CT! Afterwards, we’d play cribbage! Nobs! My favorite Sunday evening ritual is usually Masterpiece Theatre, but you should try to catch “Doc Martin.” It’s a great, quirky, fun show set in Cornwall in England! I think it’s online, too! Hope you’re having a happy Monday!

  2. You’re welcome at my table anytime you’re in AZ. We’ll play croquet! You might have to bring your set tho!

  3. If you like Vicar of Dibley -and who wouldn’t with that humor- you’ll like ‘Father Ted’ I’m pretty sure!. BTW the actress who plays the Vicar used to be a comic duo with another woman “French and Saunders”- the comedy may be a bit dated now but lots of it on you tube.

  4. I loved the vicar of dibley when it was on TV here, and yes Doc Martin is funny, but my fave was to the manor born which is very old and dated (bit like myself these days) bbc and so very British! šŸ™‚ Dawn French used to be married to another great comedian Lenny Henry also worth a look at online for a laugh. and her comedy partner made Absolutely Fabulous. which makes me cry with laughter :-). remember that life is for living and laughing. otherwise your just marking time. you should hold a sunday eat in where every one brings bowl to contribute! I love making a big bowl of tuna rice, with fine chopped cucumber and parsley with lemon juice!…. so what would you bring? (virtually sadly due to distance)

  5. Hi! Want to let you know that my bear arrived safe & sound and is sitting on my spinning chair, since I’m not using it right now. He’s a beauty, and I must add that the workmanship is awesome. Thanks Gregory
    Dee from Michigan

Leave a Reply

