Happiness and Confusion

I’ve gotten a lot of emails over the last few days about orders placed in October and November. First, allow me to say that I have been deluged with emails of all sorts since mid October. DELUGED. I try my best to get to all of them, but there just isn’t the time. With the last few weeks of Christmas upon us, I am spending every waking moment knitting up bears. But, the emails I wanted to make mention of are those that ask about when their orders would arrive.

I apologize if there was any confusion, but I placed on sell page for the teddy bears, with their descriptions, that because of such high demand, any of the bears ordered would not be delivered until January. This was on October 19th. I am so very VERY sorry if there was any confusion. Some of you have been incredibly kind and understand and have let me carry through with the order….some of you haven’t been, and I apologize for any disappointment.

I’m doing my best to make everyone happy, and get everyone’s bear out in time for Christmas…..but, I have to go first come first on my que. And as much as I would love to make exception, I just simply can’t without disappointing someone else. I hope you understand.

This is a one man operation. Just one guy with a set of needles and some yarn. I’m doing my best to make you all happy. I just beg you to have patience and remember that I’m working for you, for a better life for myself, and for a better bit of kindness and positivity in the world.

I’ve been able to speed up shipping by mailing from home. No more long lines at the post office, or waiting for a ride to get there. So, that’s a positive. But, please PLEASE bear with me (no pun intended), and hold tight. You will all get your bears…..but, I must go first come first serve and have them sent out in the order they were…..ordered???? Yes. It doesn’t mean I’ve blown you off, or I’ve forgotten about you, or that I don’t care. Of course I care. This matters to me. This is my life. My enjoyment. My hope.

…ok. About midnight. Back to work!

Gregory

 

 

 

32 comments

  1. Gregory, folks need to understand that the bears will take the time they take, and the time you give them. This is ALWAYS true for anything handmade, if it is to be done well and thoughtfully. Ask me how I know. You have my admiration and support for the work you’ve chosen (or that chose you), and my warm wishes for a profitable and low-stress holiday season. And then a good rest!!

  2. Anytime you are ordering something that is handmade and is a one person business, you have to have a plan B in case demand outstrips production. I’m thrilled there has been such a huge response and hopefully in the next month you’ll get a chance to be caught up and can even stockpile a few bears for 2014 holidays. You’ve apologized a lot lately and that shows how much you care about your bears and customers. The people that support YOU will understand. The people that just want bears may go elsewhere. In the long run, supporters will be your best customers and will return again and again. Hang in there!

  3. I’m sorry this has happened. I was in customer service for almost 20 years and I can say with certainty- people don’t pay attention.
    I haven’t ordered a bear so I don’t know what the shipping statements say but- people don’t pay attention.
    I also knit all day- not for money yet- but I understand the ‘pre-order’ costs because you have to buy the yarn/supplies and have the shipping costs covered.
    It’s frustrating to have people disappointed in your service because you do work alone- just you. And it’s a lot of work- I know.
    The bears are beautiful and made with love. They envoke all the feelings a homemade gift should- and it’s a bear!
    I hope things get better soon.
    ps- YOU DONT HAVE TO REPLY TO THIS! πŸ™‚

  4. Totally understand. I’ll be thrilled to get my bear whenever you’re done making him. No pressure from me! Just know there are many of us out here in cyberland, cheering you on and believing in you, knowing you’re doing your best. God bless you. ❀

  5. Hey Gregory, I did order a bear on Sept 4th. I have not emailed you as my bear is no rush. Hopefully my order didn’t fall through the cracks, but if it did I’d be glad to email you my copy of the paypal receipt. As I said no rush at all it can wait until after the new year if you need the time to catch up on other more time sensitive orders. Best to you and for all the people waiting for a bear they are absolutely worth the wait so keep patient. The one I received for my Mom last year was awesome and she loves it.

    Also please email me with a mailing address for you, as I have a box of yarn for you. I even found some wool while reorganizing the yarn room and I can’t use it due to allergies so I know it will find a great home with you. πŸ™‚

  6. Just don’t knit until your fingers bleed – it’s not good for your yarns. You’re a star, and I hope you’re not working so hard that it’s taking away your enjoyment of knitting.

  7. I’m a knitter myself, I even do the occasional bear. People just don’t realize the time that goes into it, knitting, they want what they want when they want it. Glad some of your customers are understanding!

  8. I too ordered a bear for myself, maybe, or maybe it will end up being a loving gift to someone along the way, but I am in no hurry at all. I think of you often and I am very glad that you are successful! Much love to you and Mario this Christmas.

  9. Sending you some knitting mojo. Do the best you can, that is all you can do. Remember that you are loved and supported. Try to take a little time for yourself. You deserve it.

  10. Hey, I am flex on my delivery. I was knitting with wooden needles the other night and got a splinter in my finger….lol be careful knitting with such speed! Have fun. Nothing feels better than making something that other people actually want to buy . I Luv it!

  11. I ordered a while back and know how hard it is to be a single handed operation, but I must say that this weekend I came home on Friday to a box, from Florida! I opened it with care as I didn’t want to harm a wool fiber! And in the box were bears, wonderful soft bears with smiles and so much love! The one for my son made me smile, when I ordered it he said ‘what do I need a bear for!’ and muttered about being too old and a car would be better etc, on Friday evening when he got his bear he was thrilled. After checking the bear over and cuddling it he hugged it to bits and even let me take a pic, I will send you it! It has pride of place in his room and I notice it moves every night so I know he gets a cuddle if not taken to bed! The other three are wonderful, but I am getting to know them each singly first, and I am taking pictures of the first bear who is now called Cathy, though she tried to steal my seat and work and then had a fun time with my hats! Why Cathy I will explain later. The care and love in these bears is amazing, thank you thank you thank you thank you, one for each much loved bear!

  12. It’s great to read so many positive comments here. I follow a favorite author on facebook and she is getting hassled because the 8th in the series has been delayed a few months. It truly amazes me every time someone takes the time to write with a self-centered complaint. The author takes it all to heart, like you, and it just doesn’t seem fair to me. Or representative of the majority of fans. So let it slide off your back and remember that the rest of us truly appreciate your work and dedication to taking the time to do it right.

  13. Hi, Gregory,

    My bars can wait until after the holidays! Just don’t want them to get lost in the land of “need to make and haven’t had time yet!” I hope to be able to send you that item we have been talking about in January! So look forward to something that will help! Love you, my brother in Florida!

    Barbara

  14. Been there – done that with ‘orders’ so take a deep breath and knit on……..also I am a knitter of ‘long-standing’ – almost 80, been knitting since I was 8 – but to make anything as wonderful as your bears, one must take time and to have one of those bears to enjoy, one must appreciate that they are ‘custom made’ – not mass produced……..take your time, I will love it whenever it gets here and here’s to a great Christmas for you this year…………………………

  15. I did read that, and I ordered a bear knowing that it wouldn’t be a holiday gift. πŸ™‚
    But it amazes me that people who order a bear to spread joy and love and positivity would attack you… which shows no joy, love, or positivity.
    Buying a bear isn’t enough, people. BE the source of joy.
    And also buy a bear!

  16. Best wishes as you go madly knitting away! i will wait ’til next year to order one of your darling bears. After all, Xmas is a feeling in the heart and only a dot on the calendar
    Anne

  17. I couldn’t afford a hand knit bear by you, so I bought the pattern. I hope to get one knit up, but will also have to wait until after the new year. Hopefully people will take a deep breath and realize that because you went viral, there became a lot of demand. You’re trying to fulfill those requests but can’t do it it time for Christmas. They can print a picture of your bears and a copy of the post and put in an envelope that its being made special for them and I’m sure any recipient or their parents would understand.

    Peace and joy and don’t overknit!

  18. Buddy! You are an artist! These are hand-made bears and you were super honest about the delivery.
    Please, please be gentle with yourself. If folks are getting wild- let ’em get wild and then ignore them. Focus on all of us that think you are amazing and would wait a year just to have a bear knitted by the artist Mad Man Knitting:)

  19. You Really are amazing…All these posts only make me want one of your Bears all the More…No matter how long it takes. You are my inspiration. If you can “do it” with yur Bears, means I can do it too with my A-Maize-ing Corn Bags. You have no idea how many lives YOU have touched. Enjoy your knitting DO NOT let it become work. God Bless you abundantly. Hugs, Tobias…

  20. I agree with those who wrote that anytime you order something handmade from a single person you have to be able to wait. I suggest that people print off a photo of Gregory’s wonderful bears, put that in a pretty envelope with an explanation about a wonderful one of a kind gift that will arrive when possible:)

  21. Gregory I did place an order after the 19th. I am in NO rush. Even if it would make someone happy you can push me further out. Take your time enjoy the craft and your holiday. Wishing you the best for the new year..

  22. πŸ™‚ The bears I have ordered were for Christmas but don’t worry, they are for very little people who really don’t have a clue whether it’s Christmas day or not. It will be more exciting for them to get presents on a completely different day when they are not utterly overwhelmed by it all! (and I know that Aunty Lis’s presents will be the best.) Thank you for working on them, I’m sure they will be brilliant.

    Best of luck with the onslaught and how exciting is it that now EVERYONE wants one of your bears?

    Lisa

  23. Never, ever apologize for doing good and don’t let anyone steal your joy. Your bears are absolutely adorable and made with so much love. You just keep doing what you are doing when you can and to heck with those who don’t have patience. Best wishes, Tammy

Leave a Reply

