Fibers in the Middle

First of all, I want to say how thankful I am for all the company. You really have sent along a lot of encouraging words and some great advice on how to get out more and find some people, make some friends, and get out of this slump. It has been a little sad and frustrating, but your helpful ideas (and let’s face it, just sitting there listening to me) has been very helpful. VERY helpful.

Another thing that has been truly helpful in my times of loneliness is an obsession with the television show, “The Middle.” Alright, maybe obsession is a strong word. How about, fondness? Yeah, I’ve developed a fondness for “The Middle.”

I’m often a day late and a dollar short on pop culture. All of the latest and newest trends always seem to fly right past me. Hell, it was only 2 years ago that I started watching “Frasier.” Since I don’t have television or cable or any of that, I hunt down things to listen to and watch on my laptop (which I actually think is VERY trendy at the moment). Anyhow, I stumbled upon “The Middle” and fell in love. I had no idea that it has been on air for about 5 years now. I have never heard anyone discuss it or mention it like they do with something like “Modern Family.”

But, I have to say that after the first episode of “The Middle” I was hooked. There was something about this kind, but wrecked, American family that I somehow adopted late at night. I felt akin to them. You see, I did not grow up in the conventional, suburban, middle American home. So, all of this was foreign to me. But, I’ve KNOWN families like this. And I found myself envious. Yeah, it sounds kinda corny to think that you’d be envious of a fictitious family in a television show, but I think the reason can be found in the show’s genuineness. The madness, the fast food, the anger, but also the attachment in adversity, that there are not always happy endings, and that an emergency $200 can break a family. These are real ideas, real issues, and they’re not delivered in a harpy tone. They’re delivered with a constant half crocked, “You deal with it.”

I would have loved to have grown up with a family like that. Anyway…..

vlcsnap-2014-05-23-02h53m15s119While adopting this family as my own late at night to escape from some loneliness, I started to pick up on something. Anyone who crochets or knits can see, no sense, when they see something that’s been handmade. There is an energy in it. Something perhaps other people can’t pick up on, but we that lead yarn from skein to sweater can only see. We pass someone on a street and stop, look back and smile….and sort of think, “She made that. Good on her. She’s one of us.”

 

vlcsnap-2014-05-23-02h54m15s192While watching “The Middle” I came across many scenes in several episodes where there was an afghan or a sweater, or a hat that you could tell had been hand made by someone somewhere. Now, I’m not sure if someone on set is doing it, or if they just bought things on Etsy, but they exists and they float them around the show quietly, and us fiber fanatics can spot them and go, “Realness…..” So, I took a couple of screen shots to show you what I mean. Real pieces of handcrafted work. Can you just imagine if one of my handcrafted teddy bears sat quietly in a scene? Wow…

vlcsnap-2014-05-23-16h30m30s222

And speaking of handcrafted….

Don’t forget, my little teddy bear pattern is still available if you’d like to make up one of your own. (Yeah, I’m pushing my pattern. Rent’s coming up). Click here.

 

 

vlcsnap-2014-05-24-03h57m19s149Alright, thank you all again for listening to me discuss loneliness and depression. I really do appreciate all the comments. I got a lot of good advice, a lot of support, and a lot of similar stories. I think we can band together and help each other. I like the idea of a skype knit group! I have skype….but I don’t know how to do a group version, if someone knows something.

 

 

vlcsnap-2014-05-25-01h48m55s29Ok, heading back to “The Middle.” Apparently, in the next episode, the Heck family is headed to Orlando for a trip….ha!

 

 

 

 

 

vlcsnap-2014-05-25-18h26m57s204When worlds collide. Realness….

11 comments

  1. How cool is that. Thank you for reminding me of the realness around us. I try to crochet and I have tried to knit, but have not gotten very far. I am still in the extreme beginner stage. I really want to learn the right way. My mom was one who knitted for the soldiers when she was a young teen. Now she is 81 and her fingers and hands do not work the same way. I also remember a very large wool blanket she knitted by hand as we traveled across the country. It was laid on a picnic table and dad said, No, not quite right. That’s when I learned about the knit one, purl two, and rip three. lol
    I love details. Now, I will be looking for realness too. Thanks for the encouragement.

  2. I love the Middle!!!!!

    As to your recent posts, I always tell my kids that the door to happiness opens OUT, maybe somehow volunteering at the library to teach people how to read, or practice speaking English, it is hard, but sometimes opening your door, stepping out and reaching your hand to someone that needs your help might bring you the companionship you are seeking.

  3. I love The Middle as well. It’s no accident that there are handmade items in the shots. These things are planned out well. Maybe the creator is an avid knitter or they wanted to instil a particular feel to the show’s family.

    I realized after reading other comments from your last post (and rereading mine) that I didn’t give you the empathy you deserve. I’m a fixer and I tend to lean toward the “at least” statements (“At least it wasn’t worse”) instead of empathizing. So, I want you to know that I do know how you feel, as I have been where you sit. I do hear you and I do still wish I could take your sadness away. So there.

  4. The Middle is one of the best shows on! They are so real. Glad that you found some comfort and ideas from everyone. Skype group sounds good. Hoping you continue to reach out and feel better

  5. Love The Middle. I especially love Sue’s always optimistic outlook on life. Even though everything seems to go wrong for her.

  6. Hi, Sweetie- boy, do I ever relate to your loneliness post and The Middle one- I came from a family exactly like that one- unfortunately all passed away now, but we all learned to just”deal with it”- the car needs new suspension, new tires, and the windows are all stuck closed; the toilet is flushing up on the full moons, there’s a dead rat stuck in the living room wall, Grandma has emphysema, Dad has asbestosis, and there’s no money for food- yeah, I relate.
    Love the idea of a knitting/crochet Skype meeting! Somebody figure out how to do this please!
    You are a wonderfully gifted writer, did you know that? You have a unique ability to translate complex thoughts into words that people can relate to- your Memorial Day post is a brilliant example- I’ve been sending it to everyone I know. My family lost so many members to wars, ptsd, and terrible injuries- they are always in my thoughts and heart- thank you for helping us remember…Lots of love, Janne

  7. I love that show. Reminds me of my own household, it’s really us. Down to the afghans covering the couch.

  8. Hi there, greetings from Munich, Germany πŸ™‚ Love reading about your thoughts. Just wanted to share that I stumbled over the same trouble last week. Being out of work and doing lots of knitting and crocheting for a friend’s shop, I find myself being alone at home with only some online TV-series to entertain (as I need “to finish a project” all the time). Last week I hated it – just sitting there and being on my own so much. Normally the crafting is simply inspiring to me. So, heads up, I now make myself go out of the house every other day and I’m sure that there will be times where I will love being on my own again. (and stop talking to my laptop πŸ˜‰

  9. Sending you some late-night love. I’m glad to see your spirits are lifting some! It’s spring and headed into summer. In between knitting groups, just get *outside* and knit. (The sunshine will do wonders for your depression, too. Trust me, I’ve been there.) Sit in the park, at a coffee shop table, library, wherever! People will ask what you are doing. The very first blog entry I read by you was one where a policeman inquired if it was knitting or crochet… πŸ™‚
    I’m logging off my computer now and going to cuddle up with my knitting (socks atm) and Mad Man Knitting on my kindle. πŸ™‚

  10. Teddy bear pattern bought, I’ll send you a pic once it’s done. And keep your chin held high, things have a habit of coming good in the end. This time last year I was in a wheelchair and now I’m walking and I’m even back at work. Knitting helped me too, helped me get passed the boredom and at times the loneliness. I’m loving your blog, so please keep writing. Think maybe a sequel to your book is in order … let us know what happened next πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

