IMG_0483Well, I guess no one wanted the messenger bag, which I guess just goes to show that I’m the “teddy bear guy.” 🙂 Not the “bag guy.” But, since it’s made up and done and I still need to sell it, I thought I’d slash it in half. THE PRICE, I mean, not the bag. So, If you’d like to have it, click here.

So, what’s been going on with me??? Wow. I know I’ve been threatening you with the last couple of blog posts that I would post a truly lengthy update on what’s been going on. There really hasn’t been too much of anything. I’m still rushing through my list of people that have ordered bears, knitting away to get them completed….one at a time. And everyone in order.

I now have a bike. Yes. I little more mobility and independence. There is this little coffee house just up the road called the Funky Monkey. I think I’m going to start heading there earlier in the day to get my knitting done, see if I can strike up some friendships. The place makes me a little nervous. Its vegan based…..so you know how the clientele can be. I’m going to give it a shot, though. I mean I’m an optimistic person…..just a touch nervous about the clientele.

I also have a working air conditioner now. A tiny little window unit that has been really good at keeping my small apartment nice and cool in this Florida heat. Now, I’m accustomed to the heat. I can handle it and have HAD to without choice for quite some time. You figure out ways around it. You keep in the shade, you get your errands done early in the day, you wear as little as possible if at home, or if the heat gets to be too much, book stores and libraries are a great place to squat and get cool without being accused of loitering. But, of course, I’d rather have the air conditioner. Now, I do! And I have to tell you my disposition sure is much better. So is my production. I’m knitting much faster!

I had something of a run in with GLAAD lately (Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation). You see, its Gay Days in Orlando right now. I have A LOT of thoughts on that, which I will post at a later time. But, GLAAD aggravated me and I had to finally say something with directness to the LGBT   (Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender) “community.”

I also had a great discussion with someone who said in conversation that they were, “I’m spiritual, not religious,” for which I can’t wait to share my thoughts.

….and something more to say on my feelings of loneliness. All of which I’ll write very shortly.

IMG_0507I only have three more Debbie Bliss bears left. Here’s the first one. I like the muzzle in cream mixed with that nice peanut buttery yarn. He’s 12 inches high and is made of 100% Merino wool. He’s ready to ship with a signed card. If you’d like to adopt him, click here.

Headed to get groceries before it gets too hot…..but if it does, screw it! I’ve got A/C!

 

 

 

10 comments

  1. Before you lower the price, try putting it on Etsy. Offer to stitch a monogram on it. I bet it’ll go for a nice price if you give it time. I think you can sell your bears there for more than $40, too!

  2. I actually liked and probably wanted the bag, but I try to disconnect over the weekend, so I missed my chance. That’s okay – I’ll just have to figure out how to make my own. Glad you got some A/C. There’s a reason why no one really lived in Florida until A/C was invented…

  3. I would like to hear your thoughts on “spiritual, not religious”. I have thoughts on that as well, but I generally keep them to myself. And the messenger bag is awesome!

  4. Glad you’re with A/C! I can’t imagine enduring a hot, muggy summer in FL without it! Salt Lake City is bad enough–with “dry heat.”

  5. I am glad that you have a bike and air conditioning now. If I’m out in the country, I don’t mind the heat so much, there are ways, as you say to get around it, but in the city, it’s very hard to stay cool, especially when the wind can’t move because of the buildings. I am very interested in hearing your thoughts on the other topics you mentioned, when you have time. Knit on dear!

  6. glad to hear your getting the world organise for you as well as for us, and I bet Mario likes the A/C as a librarian I can highly recommend knitting in libraries and when its quiet I try it at my desk 🙂 also like to browse other folks shelves and see if they have a book I haven’t got yet! I liked your bag, very red 🙂 there is a poem I like called I shall wear purple,

    When I am an old woman I shall wear purple
    With a red hat which doesn’t go, and doesn’t suit me.
    And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
    And satin sandals, and say we’ve no money for butter.
    I shall sit down on the pavement when I’m tired
    And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
    And run my stick along the public railings
    And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
    I shall go out in my slippers in the rain
    And pick flowers in other people’s gardens
    And learn to spit.

    You can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
    And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
    Or only bread and pickle for a week
    And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

    But now we must have clothes that keep us dry
    And pay our rent and not swear in the street
    And set a good example for the children.
    We must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

    But maybe I ought to practice a little now?
    So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
    When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.
    Jenny Joseph

    which may just make you smile about the day 🙂
    keep cool and well

  7. I think I’ve been living under a rock! I missed the messenger bag blog – DARN!

    and when I clicked on the link, it had been sold ;-(

    I think going to the coffee shop is a great idea,
    & a great place to may connections with people.
    ya never know, maybe there’s something you could do for them to earn a little more cash,
    OR, if they find you as fascinating as we all do, maybe a group would naturally grow out of your presence & maybe you could teach people to knit, &/or knit bears (for a honorarium 😉 )

    just some random thoughts…

    go to that coffee shop & share yourself – you’re worth knowing

  8. Congrats on the bear. And the bike. AND the air conditioner! Ours is broken, and I’m trying to get things finished for market with just the fans blowing. Hopefully we’ll have another one in the next week or two. It’s so very hot now – I can’t imagine what August is going to feel like.

Leave a Reply

