Mad Man’s Mom

unnamed unnamed2 unnamed3I was talking to my mom on the phone last night. She said she had seen my blog about being behind on back orders and such and offered some help. Now, my mother doesn’t knit, but she does crochet, and some of you out there have a couple of her blankets that she’s whipped up. And I always think it kinda interesting, when she has a question about a stitch or a pattern, she still comes to the master, the ninja, her son, the madman. Anyway, she offered some help in the form of a blanket she just finished. She said, “Sell it. Keep what you need from the sale to help you get a little caught up.”

So, hell yes, I will. She sent me photos of the blanket this morning and so I decided to go ahead and offer it up to you. As you can see, its made up in something of a granny square/window pane approach. It covers a queen size bed (so its HUGE!) and made in acrylic so its easily washable. The colors are a sea foam green bordered with white.

Now, it won’t be shipped from here, from me, but it will be shipped from “Mad Man’s Mom” (her name is Virginia) on St. Simon’s Island and then a thank you card from me. Which is pretty cool, if you ask me.

My backlogged bear for the day is finished and now I’m working on…..a tiger. Yeah. I’ll explain more tomorrow when he’s finished, but my youth and spirit were called to work on a tiger. And he’s coming out nicely.

Click here if you’d like my mom’s blanket. And again, the profits made go to help me out. Thanks ya’ll! Oh, and if you think its a bit too pricey, let me know and I’ll adjust the price for a fair offer.

Gotta go tame a tiger.

14 comments

  1. That’s so beautiful. I can tell you there is nothing better than an afghan made by someone’s mom, because so much love goes into it. πŸ™‚

  2. Hi Greg, that’s so kind of your mother to offer the crochet work for you. Moms are great. Mine taught me how to knit. She wasn’t generous with her praise, but she once did tell me that I was a better knitter than she would ever be. I knit on her old knitting needles, and sometimes I feel her hands over mine as I rhythmically make the stitches. Keep doing what you’re doing. You’re a promise for the future, and a blessing for so many.

  3. Nicely done, Mad Mom!
    Gregory, please please please write more patterns! You say that you you have knit sock-yarn versions of bears. I don’t think you know how many knitters out here are *crazy* for sock yarn. Please write down the pattern and put it up for sale. It’ll sell instantly! Also now you are making a tiger?! Write that one down, too! That’s two patterns at $2.50 (or more) each… They’ll sell like hotcakes and can take over for your instant-sell bears for at least a few days so you can finish a little more catch up, doing two back-ordered bears a day. Be true and fair to yourself and get your work load done in a way that isn’t going to kill you.

  4. Hi Greg – I can also help with back orders. I have your pattern and can hep you get caught up. You can ‘pay it forward’ if you like. Keep it in mind. Connie, NY

  5. Way to go Mom!!! Greg, is there any chance hat you could adjust your patterns (make new ones) for those of s who can’t do the whole “knit in the round” thing? I am sure you would sell at least the same amount again, if not more, so it would, for sure, be well worth it……. I am desperate to knit 2 (so far) for my Grandson and my expected Grandchild, and fingers crossed, at least another 2!! πŸ™‚ x

  6. Yay for mom comin’ to save the day. I’m super-excited to see how this tiger works out, and if he’ll look like Tigger (Winnie the Pooh) or Hobbes (Calvin & Hobbes). Good luck. πŸ˜€

  7. I’ve been considering offering my help for months. I also bought your bear (and bunny !) patterns.

    Would you perhaps consider allowing us knitters following your blog to start knitting and sending bears and/or bunnies that you can sell for rent and utilities? Knitters are always looking for an excuse to cast-on, and I tend to give away and never sell. I’ve even given away Estonian lace shawls I’ve knitted that took me weeks to finish and block.

    What do you say? Deal?

  8. Dear Greg,
    I do crochet, too, therefore I know how much work it includes to make such a big blanket. ItΒ΄s really nice of your mom to give it to you so you can sell it for your own benefit. Maybe the person who buys it will pay some extra Dollars cause IT IS A LOT OF WORK TO CROCHET A BLANKET. πŸ™‚
    Good luck!
    Regina

  9. I think a couple extra bears sent your way until you get back on track with your orders might be a great idea! I’d love to knit a bear (and have some handspun yarn which would look really cute), but have no one really to make them for. So they would sit on my shelf. If I was able to send one or two to you, you could sell them, work on your backorders, and I’d get the pleasure of making some cute bears.

    Also, as a future suggestion: only accept a limited number of special orders. Say… 15-20/month? That way you can still work on the other bears (and tigers) to cover rent & such. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

