The Last Purple Bear

IMG_0602Well, that’s that for my stash of purple and the little bit of the Debbie Bliss Merino Wool for the muzzle. I would love to write more now. God knows I have a lot to say, but I have to confess my left wrist is killing me like crazy. My left hand is numb and my wrist feels like its been wrung through a washboard, so I figure it needs some rest. If I can afford it, I plan to go see the acupuncturist up the road. I’ve been to him before when I had a groin injury seven years ago. (Long story 🙂 ) So, If you’d like to adopt him, he’ll be shipped out on Monday with a signed card from me.  He’s made of acrylic (except for the muzzle), stuffed with polyfill and measures 12 inches from his tippy toes to his head. If you’d like to adopt him, click here.

Hope ya’ll have a great weekend. Me? I really do think I’m gonna take two days away from knitting to let myself recover. There’s much to do, but I can’t do it if I’m injured. So I’m gonna sit back, have myself some boiled peanuts in my pajamas while watching something crass and wrong on TV and see if we can’t get this hand of mine back in shape. Thank goodness for Kara and Carlos…..and all of you, for that matter. Thank goodness for all of you. (I think I’m gonna watch “Fried Green Tomatoes”. Why not?)

 

If you’d like to buy my patterns, click here. If you like my writing, and would like to support my blog, please donate. Donations go to help buy yarn, pay rent and pay utilities, and keep the dream alive!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 comments

  1. Try to alernate between dpns and straight needles. Squeeze a squash ball using alternate hands…rest for a couple of days…not uncommon as we get older with constant use of dpns and crochet hooks.

  2. Try putting a bag of frozen peas or frozen corn on it, wrap a towel around it to hold it in place. That should help to keep the swelling at bay.

  3. My hands act up when I push myself to keep up on orders. The left on goes so numb,I start dropping things.
    I’ve found a few things help.
    – Soaking in epson salts & warm water. I use a tall pitcher so my hand & forearm can relax inside.
    – Wrist/hand stretches my PT showed me. If you can look some up, it is the one where the ar is stretched out with the hand pointing up, palm out & you use the other hand to stretch it out.
    – Sleeping with my hands flat. When they hurt, they are tight & want to curl up. I lay them under a pillow or in my husband’s pillow-pet. Weird, but it helps.

    Anna

  4. There is a supplement you might want to try for that hurting and/or numb left hand and wrist. I have been knitting for many years, and I sometimes have pain and numbness in my hands which my doctor calls neuropathy. A few months ago, a friend suggested I try this vitamin to see if it helps. I googled and found that there were even scientific studies supporting the use of this supplement for pain and neuropathy. It is a synthetic form of Vitamin B1 called benfothiamine, and it is not expensive. I take 300 mg a day and it has helped me immensely. If you try it, I hope it works as well for you as it has worked for me.

    Patricia

  5. rest, and maybe try a cold pack, like for sprains, or some crepe bandage and strap the wrist /hand, just not too tight. Kathleen.

  6. Hi Gregory: You might look online, YouTube for example, for exercises to heal and prevent repetitive strain injuries. They worked very well with me. I’m a big fan of acupuncture and maybe the practitioner will know of exercises to help. There’s also a company called Blue Spring that puts out Super Blue Stuff (Super White Stuff is the unscented version) that is for natural pain relief and healing. There are also homeopathic creams and gels for muscle/joint/connective tissue/nerve injuries.
    I forget the one I used on a badly sprained ankle. If I remember, I’ll drop another note.

    Gina

  7. Carpal tunnel. I got it from working for 9 straight months with 14 hour days knitting toys on my DPNs. Numbness in both hands and screaming wrist pain. The only thing that works for me is to take two days off from knitting. So I’ll spin on my spinning wheels, shop, get all my chores done and then I’ll knit for two days. I’ve tried everything and that’s the only thing that works for me.

  8. Shame, hope it gets better soon. You could consider learning to crochet – it uses different muscles so you could alternate crafts.

  9. I also love the Super White Stuff. (I got it from Amazon.) My elbows hurt from knitting and this stuff really helps me a lot. It’s great for all pain. Blessings!

Leave a Reply

