Electric Bear

IMG_0636 IMG_0637So, my left hand (sounds like a weird version of “My Left Foot,” but about a knitter) still has quite a bit of trouble. The usual. Holding things, sharp pain running up my arm into my shoulder blade. This isn’t the first time. But, there you have it. I’m trying to recooperate, but work needs to be done. And like I mentioned in my last post, Carlos and Kara have been helping me with much of the knitting.

But, despite whatever issues we have at the moment with my hand,Ā  we still have obligations and bills. Bears still need to go out, over due bears that need to get to their adopted homes, and the usual monthly expenses. That’s why I named this little guy, Electric Bear. I made him up so I’d have the funds for my electric bill. I think he looks so classic. You know? Like….I dunno…..like the teddy bear you see in the corner in a scene out of Peter Pan. Or, tucked under the arm of a kid lost somewhere. Or, the bear found under a pile of old toys in a chest. Classic. If you’d like to adopt him, click here. He’s ready to ship with a signed card from me. He’s made of wool and measures 12″ from toe to head.

I don’t wanna write too much, for I do need to rest my hand more. And I need to work up bears for Kathy, Terry, Pam and Benita this week. So, hope you’re all well. I’ll write little notes here and there to give you progress on my hand. Hoping to see the acupuncturist this week sometime.

 

If you’d like to buy my patterns, click here.

If you’d like for this blog to continue, please support!

 

 

12 comments

  1. Have you been diagnosed with anything like carpal tunnel? Rest is absolutely called for! And anti-inflammatories, like ibuprofen. Wrist brace might help, too. I hate that this world ends up like this: you work hard, so hard you’re injured, so then you have to work harder to make the ends meet and exacerbate injury. šŸ˜¦ God luck!

  2. I think you need the arm strap for tendinitis or “tennis elbow” you can find them at the drug store, it straps on and helps relieve that nerve that runs up your arm! Send your friend šŸ™‚

  3. Try taking a high dose B vitamin – that’s the only thing I know that actually helps with nerve damage.

  4. I’m sorry your hand isn’t feeling so great. I hope you give it enough rest so you can keep pressing on with your cute/awesome little bears. Good luck, and best wishes! šŸ™‚

  5. I had something similar. What took me a while to realize is that it stemmed from my spin. Great posture is real important. Another good physical therapy tool is to take two bath towels and roll them tightly together so you have a thick noodle. Place rolled towels on the floor and lie on top with your knees bent, one end of the towels under the tail end of you spine and the other should end at you neck. Place your hands with palms side up and just lie there for 15-20 minutes. It is okay if you fall asleep. This really helps to relax your back and get better posture.

  6. It is, of course, impossible to diagnose from afar (especially since I don’t actually have any medical qualifications to begin with), but this sounds very similar to a problem I had with my right hand/arm. For me it turned out to be a pinched nerve in my neck, exacerbated by “excessive” knitting (repetitive stress and my tendency to always look down whilst knitting). It took bi-weekly acupuncture and bi-weekly physical therapy for 2 months, plus some muscle relaxants and pain meds to get it under control. I hope you’re able to deal with your issue far more easily!

  7. Acupuncture is great! If its radiating up to your shoulder blade, you might try getting a neck/upper back-shoulder massage on both sides. Maybe see if a massage therapist in your area would trade body work for a bear?

  8. oh ouch, I have been diagnosed with RSI and when it really kicks in I lose the use of the whole arm, had to stop knitting until I found way to do and not strain, and I have to wear splints part of my day, small cost for being able to knit and craft again, I do hope you do not have this but it is cope able with and you can still knit even if you have to adapt! Glad you have help, means less stress on you and your joints!
    get well soon, or maybe get better soon.

Leave a Reply

