Unexpected Gifts and Surprises

IMG_0739Give me a second, this post is gonna take a minute.

Its about 10pm EST. Friday night. Quiet here. You now the drill. Knitting. I actually signed up for Netflix’s free month trial, so I was watching all these lovely things I keep hearing everyone talk about, but have no clue of. Breaking Bad. Orange is the New Black. So, I’m sitting here knitting, watching some “television,” some lentil’s on the stove top. I’ve got my pajamas on, Mario is over in the corner quite content being left alone for the moment, a little drizzle outside. It’s a nice, quiet, cozy night.

Suddenly, there is a knock at the door. It’s a pizza delivery guy. Apparently, my friend Butch in Wyoming just decided I could use a pizza on my quiet Friday night. No warning. No heads up. Total surprise. “Here. Have a pizza.”

And there it was. My favorite. Triple pepperoni on thin crust. I was awestruck. Tip was already included. All I had to do was chow down. I sat back and had the first slice and thought about how kind a gesture that was, how unexpected a gift that was. I was going to be perfectly happy with my lentils…..but, damn this is pizza we’re talking about!

I put my lentils away πŸ™‚ But, what I wanted to get at was how that pizza surprisingly delivered to my door reminded me of all of you, how all of you have been such an unexpected gift to me. You’ve kept me alive. You’ve made it possible for me and this little cat to have a home, to have good food in our bellies. You’ve showered the two of us with generosity and kindness and love. I will always be grateful. I am fiercely loyal to all of you. And it has been such a wonderful surprise that I never expected.

My life, because of you, has been a wonderful surprise that I never expected. I started this venture, started knitting these teddy bears just to get some food, get out of homelessness, find a place to live……and the surprise? I found a world of people who are caring, who are filled with love. And I found a purpose. I found something I was really good at, something the world took notice of and appreciated. I wasn’t a homeless guy trying to feed himself anymore. I was a craftsman, whose work people admired. And I owe that all to you. All of you.

IMG_0740I’m sitting back eating a slice of my favorite pizza on a drizzly Friday night. A pizza ordered from someone in Wyoming. A total surprise.

I don’t have much, but I do have a REALLY REALLY good life….and its all because of all of you. Every single one of you. πŸ™‚

If you’d like to buy my patterns, click here.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

12 comments

  1. I’m just grinning reading this, and seeing you chomping into that delectable-looking pizza. Such a great blog post, Patrick! So glad you’re noticing how special we all think you are.

  2. Cool thing for a Wyomingite to do, having been born there I think he is a good example of the people there. I received the little gray bear today and he is perfect!! My soon to be born granddaughter will, I hope, love him. Thanks so much!!

  3. The more grateful you are the more you have to be grateful for. I’m grateful you share with us. That you’ve found a way for yourself. I’m grateful that you’re grateful. That just will multiply the gratitude for everyone. I’m hoping to be able to get one of your bears soon.

  4. This is a truly lovely post. I work with people who are homeless and know so many of them just can’t find a way to get out of the deep, dark hole that has swallowed them up (often through no fault of their own). You apparently have, and have emerged into a promising, hopeful world, full of warmth. So happy for you… πŸ™‚

  5. when you get caught up with all your knitting, I wonder if you’d just think about something…

    this is not a suggestion, just something to think about…

    I have it on very good authority that you’re a darn good restaurant server. As you well know, good employees are hard to find, let alone keep. I’m not suggesting you work full time. Maybe part time? Some restauranteur would hug themselves to have someone working with them who has a clue. In that vac a / resort area, they proxy get LOTS of fly by night workers.

    like I said, just think about it.

    one of these days I’m gonna beat everybody to the punch & get one of your bears! πŸ˜‰ LOL

    hope the temps are moderating down there like they are here

  6. I love your writing as much as your bears. Thank you for both. p.s. how dare you post photo’s of such a delicious looking pizza when I’m on a diet!

  7. That was such a nice thing to do (guy in Wyoming)! Those unexpected gestures of kindness bring such happiness. We need more of that these days, yes? And you, Gregory, deserve some of the bounty that God provides, even if it just comes in the form of a pepperoni pizza! Blessings to you (and the Wyoming friend)!

Leave a Reply

