Let’s Get Crafting!

IMG_0851   Oh, man, oh man, oh man, I have been sooooo anxious to tell you all about this for a while now, but I didn’t want to say anything until it actually HAPPENED. A couple of weeks ago, I received an email from a knitting magazine in the UK asking if I’d like to do an interview. “Well, hell yeah!”

They were so incredibly polite and kind and sent me their Christmas issue of the magazine not long after. “Let’s Get Crafting” is an awesome magazine. I love the way its bundled with yarn and needles to make one of the projects inside. Can you imagine???? I soaked in the tub one night flipping through the magazine, loving how clever and whimsical it was. If I wasn’t working on teddy bears right now, I’d SO be knitting up some of their projects.

IMG_0860Then. THEN! Today……TODAY! I got the issue in the mail with my article and man, oh man, oh man was I excited to see the article in print! YEAH! As many of you know I “spend” my Saturdays in the UK (in thought while watching classic television) so it was really special for me to see me make my way there in some very cool way. “Tea and a Chat With…..” How very English 🙂 So, if you live in the UK rush on out and snag a copy!

Wow….good day. Not apologizing for looking scruffy in the pic. I’ve been busy and I’m just too damned happy 🙂 YAY! And don’t forget to grab one of my patterns at Ravelry and knit a teddy bear of your very own in no time at all. I would LOVE to sell 10 copies of my patterns today. WOULD LOVE THAT! Just to celebrate in my own way my very cool accomplishment 🙂

If you’d like to buy my knitting patterns on ravelry, click here.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

43 comments

  1. This is wonderful. I’m an english transplant living in NC, and I am sure “my people” will love you. We love quirky, but of course we call it eccentric 🙂 and I mean that in a good way. Keep on keepin’ on. xx

  2. Congratulations! I’d love to read the article. Maybe I can find the magazine somewhere… ? Wouldn’t it be awesome if we all sent letters to the editor saying how much we enjoyed the article so that they received more fan mail than ever before, thanks to Gregory Patrick?

  3. Gregory, one of the secrets of publicity is to use one piece of publicity to generate another. (I attended an expensive Publicity Summit in NYC.) You should send copies of this article to as many knitting magazines as you can to see if they might also do an interview. In addition, send the article to other types of magazines that might do your story with a different angle. Find freelance writers who are already connected to magazine editors. Send it to your local newspaper, too, as they are likely to pick up the “local man” angle. On and on it goes… You’re on your way to the next level! But it takes follow-up to make it happen.

  4. One of the cross stitch magazines I used to get had a male cross-stitcher writing an article every month. Have you tried sending your blog to knitting magazines to see if they would be interested in a monthly male knitters perspective on things? It might be worth a try. Good luck and congratulations. 🙂

    1. Also updated my patterns on ravelry to get them all in one place 🙂 thank you I now have all your patterns ready for when I have time (ha hahaha ROFL) what ever that is.

  5. I think you should post this in your Ravelry group that I just joined. It might be fun for you to post photos of new bears too to keep a conversation going and inspire us.

  6. Love, love, LOVE British crafting mags! Discovered them at the local book store’s newsstand…. Totally addicted! Always a freebie. 🙂 Congrats on your latest publication! 🙂

  7. Great!! I loved looking at the English crafting mags when we were over there this summer. I almost bough a knitting mag, a crocheting mag, and a baking mag because they all little kits to make something in the magazine – brilliant!
    So happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

