A Thank You Note

So, I’m sitting here, knitting…..well, truth be told, not REALLY. I put the needles down about an hour ago to make some dinner. Pasta with Brussels sprouts and a squeeze of lemon juice. Sounds swank, don’t it? Nah, actually, it costs me about $3. The pasta and Brussels sprouts were ‘buy one get one free’ and the lemon was a splurge.  (When did lemons become so expensive? I live in Florida, they GROW everywhere! oh yeah….they’re imported from Mexico…..hmm).

Now, that means TWO one pound boxes of pasta for one price and TWO bags of Brussels sprouts for one price. DAMN! Do have any idea how far that goes? I really should start a new page on my blog. Something like, “The Poor Knitter’s Guide to Groceries.” I know how to make $20 last a week on groceries, without compromising nutrition. And I know some people are out there going, “But, I have a family of four to feed!” Hell, simple tricks can buy you some good food without going in debt while still eating well despite how many people you have to feed.

But, that’s not why I’m writing this tonight.

I was sitting here, pasta bowl in hand, watching “That 70’s Show.” Guilty pleasure. Tons of fun. Great way to end the day laughing. I peeked over at the crazy one, Mario the cat, curled up in the corner on a blanket. My tiny little apartment is clean. I’m enjoying good, hearty, healthy food. My teddy bears are loved. And I’ve received some truly heartwarming and amazing emails over the past couple of days.

And that’s because of you.

You not only saved a man, you helped that man build a life for himself. When this all started, I reached out with my little teddy bears because I needed something to eat. A place to rest my head safely at the end of the day. What you did instead was give me a life. A real life to which I wake every morning, anxious to embrace, to hold, to share. Yes, I share this life with you, because you made it possible.

So, I thank all of you, from the bottom of my heart, for giving me hope, purpose, your love, and a sense of fulfillment.

This is just the start, a little blip in history, where we showed the world that compassion rules over tyranny, that kindness defeats aggression always.

Thank you all, so much. All of you. For everything. And I do mean that. For everything that this life of mine has become….and for giving me the hope of what my life will become.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you so much.

If you’d like to buy my knitting patterns on ravelry, click here.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

 

11 comments

  1. The gratitude goes both ways, Patrick. I’m grateful to have found you, to be able to read what you write, how you think, how persistent you are and have been in the face of damn tough odds, how resilient you and Mario are. It’s a frequent reminder to me of how fundamentally good and connected we all are. Thank you thank you thank you. Always.

  2. Wow. Tears in my eyes reading this. I am thankful to you for your writing and your knitting and my little purple bear that sits in my office all day long and keeps an eye on me while I work from home … but mostly I am thankful to know you are warm and safe with a kitty to love and food in your belly and teddy bears to send out … making people happy.

  3. And Thank you also for helping us understand and to widen my world, to show that there are good people out there too, so show me caring has a purpose and a place, Thank you for sharing with us and letting us into your world, and cuddles for Mario too.

    1. Vivienne – I has that immediate reaction too, viz. let him know about Jack Munroe. She’s a real cracker, that one, and he may appreciate reading about her. Jack’s faced her share of hard times too.

  4. As others have said, thank you, Gregory. Since I first read your story in the Huffington Post, my heart and thoughts have been with you. I am so happy that your story, as it unfolds, has been successful. There have been ups and downs, but you have persevered and thrived. With two bears under my belt, I hope to be ordering more soon for the upcoming holidays. Keep those fingers flying and know that there are those far away who have been touched by your and Mario’s story and delighted by the little bears that arrived at their door. Those little bears have touched the lives of a couple of my dear friends, and I hope to have my very own one day to grace the bed where my grandchildren rest their heads when they come to visit. So, again, thank you for your gift of love and know that it is returned right back to you. ❤

Leave a Reply

