Cheap Red and Nearly Dead

siouxToday is Peni’s birthday.

She passed away a few years back. Must be five years by now. She would have been 45.

At first, I had an awfully hard time with it, obviously. She was the closest person I ever had in my life. The joke around town was that we were married…..but I was the wife, and she was the husband. Usually this time of year I get a little sullen, but not this year. This year I celebrate her life, although I still get angry when I think of her death. It’s hard to think sometimes that the only person who understands about how you feel about someone’s passing, is ironically the one that has passed on.

I miss her. But, I’ve grown to accept it. I’ve grown to remember and appreciate the memories and enjoyments we shared. This time of year, I smile, rather than go quiet. These days I laugh at our antics, rather than pound my fist and declare how unfair it is.

Years and years ago (bordering on 20 now), Peni and I pursued acting. With no parts available to us, or with none being offered to us, I set out as a writer and wrote simple short stories of a gothic nature that we could perform in coffee houses. I would narrate offstage while she would act them out with whatever actors managed to move into our little realm. We had the best of time. Always the best of time. We actually had quite a little following. Some random Tuesday you could find us at the Yab Yum coffee house and catch free theater.

Many years later, I published those short stories in a book called, “Stories Inspired by Siouxsie.” Complete with illustrations by yours truly, I wanted to pay homage to the those Grand Guignole days of ours. Within that collection of mine was a story called, “Cheap Red and Nearly Dead” that was dedicated to her and our friendship. Now, all the anecdotes in the story are true. Yes, from us auditioning for a play drunk because we were bored (and got the parts), to being seen in Publix with Peni painted grey, to us being found poolside at 10am one morning with purple, wine tinted lips, the anecdotes in the story are quite true. We were crazy people, enjoying every minute of it, celebrating life while not realizing how quick it could be over….or maybe in some way we did?

vlcsnap-2014-10-20-12h51m53s172So, to honor Peni’s birthday, I thought I’d gift you with the story that was written about our friendship. And gift her with another moment of knowing in heaven that she’s still loved, cherished and remembered every day.

If you’d like to read it, just click here: Cheap Red and Nearly Dead

Gonna go back to knitting….and spend some time with her while I do so.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

8 comments

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I like that you’ve chosen to honour her with us, with the story about your friendship, and that you think of her fondly. Time heals all wounds, but it’s rarely easy.

  2. Gregory, Cheap Red and Nearly Dead, was a wonderful story! It had me laughing and crying. What a wonderful tribute to your deal friend. You are so talented. As much as knitting is your passion, I think the world would be a better place with more of your writing. There is so much garbage being written and sold by people claiming to be authors with absolutely zero talent and you just have it oozing out of your soul.

  3. Sorry for your loss, so glad for your connection. It’s so nice to know someone who knows you so completely is just in the next room as it were, always there when you think of them. It’s nice to not be alone, Thanks for sharing .

  4. So sorry for the loss of your dearest friend, I read your story and cried. You were so blessed to find each other and whirl around life together. She’s keeping an eye on you I’m sure. xxoo

Leave a Reply

