The Donegal Bears and a UK Shout Out

unnamedA few weeks ago Hazel Donnelly sent me some Donegal wool from Ireland. Isn’t that awesome? Direct from her stash in Ireland, this beautiful girl sent me two skeins of Donegal to work up some bears with. Draped in the mock sweater and removable hat and scarf that my bears are cozying up with this winter, the little bears came out great. I have two in this style with the brown sweater. The other two aren’t finished yet. They were of a grey tone, made up with white sweaters. So, I’ll post those later in the week.

But, these two little guys that are done came out just really nice, plush and poofy. You know how virgin wool can be. Sometimes it has that soft hint that feels like cotton. The Donegal was no exception. So, thank you Hazel!

il_570xN.512817843_s7o3And speaking of Hazel, you should really check out her shop. If you’re in need of a hat or gloves for this winter, she’s your girl. She does REALLY great work. Phenomenal work. And I have to admit, she is an incredibly beautiful girl with some striking eyes. So be sure to check out her knit accessories direct from Ireland.

AND! I want to give another special thanks to a wonderful retired couple in Wales, Carol and her Darling Dave, who sent me an email last night that was so kind and touching that I spent the rest of the evening with a giddy heart. Here I am, this skinny little guy in Orlando, Florida, getting love from all parts of the world. And that lovely couple’s email just pretty much sealed the deal.

AND! We have sold so far 24 copies of my book and pattern bundle, most of whom have been in the UK, which is why I wanted to give a great big hug and shout out to all of you across the pond and say, thank you! Ya’ll have been really kind to me. I really appreciate it 🙂

Now, even though I’ve sold 24 copies in two days, I still have a long way to go. The funds from the book and pattern bundle are going to set me into a better world, a better life. No more fear of rent not being paid, no more missing meals, but what’s more, I will FINALLY be able to hand back the generosity that has been handed me. I’ll finally be able to rest, sleep, worry less, eat more, and share my blessings with others. And on a logistic front, I can begin a new chapter in this bear story.

So, be sure to snag a copy of my book and pattern bundle. I’m hope for another 20 copies by the end of today.

IMG_0950So, If you’d like to snag the Donegal Bear, click here. He’s ready to ship with a signed card by me. And yes, the pattern for him is in the bundle, as well.

If you’d like to buy my book and pattern bundle on craftsy, click here. The bundle is a pdf that contains not only my book, “MAD MAN KNITTING -or- the waiter and the fly,” but four of my patterns. The bear, the tiger, the bunny, and the bear dressed up in a mock sweater with hat and scarf.

If you’d like to buy it directly from me, click here. Just be sure your email is correct in check out, that’s the email address I’ll be sending it to.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you! Let’s do this!!!!

Leave a Reply

