A Week with a Friend

As many of you know, Butch was here this last week visiting from Wyoming. Butch has grown VERY fond of Pho, so wherever he goes, he has to find a place to try local pho. (I could have tried harder and made that last sentence haiku).

IMG_1015As luck would have it, there is an amazing Pho restaurant just a block from here, so we popped in there probably 4 times throughout the week. If you’ve never had Pho, you’re missing out. A huge bowl of broth and noodles for cheap…..and RARELY can you finish the whole bowl. You get nice and warm and full.

 

IMG_1020We also went out to a new arcade that just opened around the corner. I have a fondness for air hockey, so we popped in some quarters and spent a good chunk of one afternoon slamming the puck across the table. Great time. I wont 2 out of 3 games. I felt like a freakin’ 15 year old.

We also went to the Science Center just up the road where I go such a massive case of vertigo in the dome cinema that I had to pull my hat down over my eyes and wait for the film to be over.

IMG_1036But, I have to say most of the week we rested and enjoyed the warm weather whilst I knit, which was actually all I truly wanted to do. That was my favorite part of his visit. Us just sitting and talking while I worked the needles, snacking on cheese and crackers, just enjoying each others company. It was a nice week with a friend. Reminds you that good friends don’t need to overly impress, or drag you everywhere. Good friends just want to be with you. Good friends sit with you while you knit 🙂

We did contact the realtor about my little white house. Haven’t heard back, but I’m not surprised. I mean, I can barely pay the rent each month for my little apartment, let alone ask for a mortgage on a house, despite whatever programs are out there. So, we press on, knitting bears and selling my book and patterns bundle. I’ll get there someday. If I work hard, I’ll get there. Have faith, young man. Have hope. You’ll get your little white house someday.

It’s a nice warm Saturday. Gonna head back out and get the needles back to work 🙂

If you’d like to buy my book and pattern bundle on craftsy, click here. The bundle is a pdf that contains not only my book, “MAD MAN KNITTING -or- the waiter and the fly,” but four of my patterns. The bear, the tiger, the bunny, and the bear dressed up in a mock sweater with hat and scarf.

If you’d like to buy it directly from me, click here. Just be sure your email is correct in check out, that’s the email address I’ll be sending it to.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

 

3 comments

  1. good Friends are often measured by their silences and the peace you get in their company 🙂 you do not have to entertain nor put up any sort of facade, nor apologise for circumstance, nor worry about impression. With a good friend you just are! So nice to see how much Butch’s visit has meant to you 🙂 happy knitting.

Leave a Reply

