The Chills

Ok, so I imagine no one in the country is safe from the chill these last few days. Even here in Central Florida, we’re feeling the brisk burn of the cold winds. Ok, so it’s not AS bad as other places, but you do feel a definite pinch in the butt when the temp goes from 85 (like it was yesterday) to 45 (which it is right now).

We’re awfully lucky this far south. It’ll only last a day or two before we creep back up into the tropical 70’s. However, in the meantime, you do start to make preparation for the coming cold with dusty sweaters hidden in your closet, recipes for warming, brothy soups, and outside fire pits (if you have one).

IMG_1071Now, I was sure I was going to need an extra blanket. With money tight, I spied my stash and all the lovely yarn people have sent me over the last year. Jennie Owens sent me a box a couple of months ago with some amazing afghan yarn. Dude….perfect….PERFECT. All it took was a mere two days of going round and round in a massive giant granny square to whip up my extra blanket to keep warm under. It came out rather nice. Browns, blues, greys, masculine. And obviously, Mario seems to really like it too.

IMG_1073SO! We’re all prepped up for the next two days. No need to leave the cozy confines of my tiny apartment. I’ve made chicken soup from scratch, I’ve got my extra blanket to cuddle under, got the second season of American Horror Story to watch. Got my knitting needles, gonna whip out some teddy bears 🙂 Yes, I’m busy still getting as many orders out before Christmas, and the weather is just PERFECT for knitting up a storm.

Gonna be a nice two days of comfortable productivity 🙂 Ya’ll stay warm!

If you’d like to buy my book and pattern bundle on craftsy, click here. The bundle is a pdf that contains not only my book, “MAD MAN KNITTING -or- the waiter and the fly,” but four of my patterns. The bear, the tiger, the bunny, and the bear dressed up in a mock sweater with hat and scarf.

If you’d like to buy it directly from me, click here. Just be sure your email is correct in check out, that’s the email address I’ll be sending it to.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

 

 

 

 

12 comments

  1. Yummy looking chicken soup, Gregory! Do you have a recipe you follow each time or do you just wing it? I love adding the fresh Greek oregano that I grow. I still have some left up here in Central NY, believe it or not. If you’ve been following the big weather picture, we’re in the 20’s here. I’m looking out my office window at a misty snow. And that afghan is wonderful! You’ve inspired me to make one of my own from all my leftover yarn hanging around in bags. You stay warm and send your fans in the frigid parts of the US warm thoughts and postings!

  2. When 45 is t-shirt weather, and you just throw on a sweater to start the car at 19, then you know you live in the high sierras. The extra blankets are already on the bed and the couch and the electric blanket is set to warm. The dog makes small tunnels under the blankets and curls up at the bottom to make a lovely foot warmer. Hot soup and good tea from Australia. All you can ask for.

  3. I like the blanket. Nice colour combination. Is that a pattern you made up? I bet it would sell well (to us crochet-challenged knitters, lol).

  4. It’s warm here in my part of Alaska, Gregory…44 degrees Fahrenheit!! Woot!!
    (Btw, nice blanket! And the soup looks super-yummy! Check out my blog for a similar soup recipe I made over the weekend.)

  5. Love the blanket! Glad you were able to whip one up and stay cozy! Could you update us on how many bears are still in the pipeline? I am in no rush, just wondering if I am at number 20 or 200! Thanks!!

  6. Blanket looks cool, soup looks great, here in Australia it’s just getting into spring/summer and warming up…..Today was 28’c or for you 82.4 f and it’s only just starting.

  7. Weather update from NYS: It’s definitely knit and crochet anything warm up here!
    I live in Central NY and we have just a dusting of snow. The sun is bright this morning but it’s 20 degrees, about 20 lower than normal. The western part of the state got a crazy amount of snow. The northern part got dumped on, too. It’s the way the wind was blowing from the southwest apparently. That’s why it missed my area. Gotta bundle up to go to work. Would much rather be home making chicken soup and making an afghan!

    Hope all is well, Gregory, and that the teddy bear making is moving along.

    Gina

  8. knits, cooks, makes a bed, likes teddy bears, knows afghans are not just people from Afghanistan… No wonder I follow your blog! Seriously, you are always a source of inspiration, good thoughts and positive outcomes. Thank you for sharing it all with the rest of us. We’ve already gone as low as -23C on one night and we haven’t been higher than -8C during the day for awhile. Hoping this weekend will bring us slightly better temps. And no…. I’m obviously not from Florida. 😉 Oh, and I’m thoroughly enjoying your book. I’m supposed to be finishing 3 others but I keep sneaking in reading time on yours. Happy knitting!

Leave a Reply

