Mad Man Screwed

It was only a matter of time.

I truly have been trying to push out as many orders as possible. But, I’m just not able to keep up with people just getting thoroughly pissed with me.

The truth is, when the Huffington Post article came out, I got a nice chuck of orders….but, I didn’t charge enough for them. So, once the money was spent on rent and utilities, I had to go back to making more bears. And people have been truly upset that I could be making new bears when I have older bears that need to go out. I had no choice. I had to make new ones to keep paying rent, keep paying utilities.

But here before Christmas, I know the tension gets worse. Deadlines are unmistakeable. And pressures mount. I understand that. And when people get angry, I understand that, too.

I didn’t do any bears for this month because I was convinced I could get most everyone out in time before feeling the pressure. But, that wasn’t the case. No bears being sold, means no money. And no money means no rent. So, I didn’t knit up any new ones, I’ve just been busy trying to get older ones out.

So I’m screwed. Rent still hasn’t been paid and I’ve been refunding money to people like crazy. Yes, the prices of my bears has double, because half of that goes back to people who just are so infuriated with me that I have no choice but to let them have their money back.

Patience is running thin with people. They’re not happy with my promises anymore. And I have to reiterate, I understand. I truly do and I’m doing everything in my power to get you squared away, whether its the bear or your money you want, and pay my rent and utilities at the same time. And this month? It just didn’t happen.

So, if you’d like to help out, I’m hoping you can. If you want to consider it an early Christmas, I’ll gladly accept.

But, this is the last, and I do mean THE LAST opportunity I have to save my reputation, get solid ground, and finish the year with EVERYONE happy. They’ll either have their bear, or their refund, and I’ll have paid the rent before temorrow before I’m asked once again by my landlord, “Late AGAIN?” then asked to leave.

I know there are many of you, soooo many of you that have received your bears and love every single one of them. You write to me and tell me, you send photographs to prove it. And that is the hope that keeps me working well into the night, and early in the morning.

Here I was hoping to score my little white house one day, while destiny was pressing me into remembering that I can only move forward from the groundfloor. No high flying expectations, walk first. Crawl if you have to. You can’t move forward until the past is settled.

You can help out by buying patterns, or my bundle, or perhaps a gesture into my donate box. Everything counts. Every dime.

It’s time to clear this once and for all. Am I to knit for people hopes and dreams that they can clutch and hold dearly? Or am I to be a huge disappointment?

Everything we’ve all worked so hard for can’t collapse so quickly. I need a fighting chance to win your favor again. I really need a fighting chance.

If you’d like to buy my book and pattern bundle on craftsy, click here. The bundle is a pdf that contains not only my book, “MAD MAN KNITTING -or- the waiter and the fly,” but four of my patterns. The bear, the tiger, the bunny, and the bear dressed up in a mock sweater with hat and scarf.

If you’d like to buy it directly from me, click here. Just be sure your email is correct in check out, that’s the email address I’ll be sending it to.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

24 comments

  1. Done and done. I’m sorry that the past few months have been so difficult for you. I wish I could do more. I was one of the people complaining earlier this year and never did receive my bear (I blame the postal service) but I still do support you, want the best for you and will do whatever I can to help.

    Love and peace to you and Mario.

  2. I wish I was there so I could knit up a few arms and legs for you, get you fulfilling orders quicker. I’m really skint at the moment and what with Christmas coming up – well, you know what I mean. You’ll survive, I know you will. And we all love you. Denis x

  3. Maybe, add the knitted vase covers, like Giovanni makes, to sell along with the bears. They would have to be easier and less time consuming then the bears. I know i could probably afford a vase cover before i would be able to get a bear. Ya have to pay rent and Mario and you have to eat also. Yur only human and can only knit so many bears before carpel tunnel sets in. Those who paid for their bears at the cheap price especially will HAVE to wait till you can make the bear or afford to refund their money.
    You are NOT going to make them all happy. Know that you have me and thousands of others cheering you on.

    I arrived here in Superior AZ from Frankenmuth, Michigan. Over two thousand miles in a 1994 Chevy Van. I am glad I had the courage to make the move. I sold all my beautiful Canaries at give away prices and am now looking for a few pairs to start over again. Our Lord was with me as I journeyed here and He is with you also. I am making new friends at Church. I even met a former Benedictine Monk. Yur in my prayers every morning at Mass. God bless you and keep you in the palm of His Hand. Hugs, Tobias…

  4. HI I do not need my order for Christmas. I do not care when it comes. Someday. Let it be a surprise! Ordered March 25, 2014. #45327294 $41.00. Thank you Margaret Beller

  5. I have sent a donation – hope there will be lots more from others. If we each send some, it should soon mount up. Can’t let you lose your home! I hope you manage to clear your backlog – your reputation is important. Take care, and know that people wish you well.

  6. https://creativecrochet0129.wordpress.com/2014/11/16/beauty-and-the-bear/

    You are appreciated, more than you can understand with the walls seeming to close in around you. I’ll never forget how happy the Bears and Bunny made us! Give me a bit and I’ll donate, I just got committed to making a blanket and should receive the rest of that money shortly. Keep your head up, read my post and the many thank you emails you get for inspiration!

    xoxo Desmonia Darkness

  7. I don’t understand this at all!! You are not a retail store or a factory outlet!! You are one man making a specialty item for people. Why are people in such a rush? When people place an order they should realize they will get their item in a year perhaps??
    I recall a cook on t.v once that wanted a pepper mill and the waiting list was 5 years or something like that. It was made by one man and he had many orders ahead of hers. I don’t know how much your bears are but they obviously should be a lot more money and tell people up front they have a very long wait. If they want it today they can pick up a cheap crappy bear at Walmart!!!

  8. Oh my dear man. It makes my heart ache to read the pressure you are under. I hear that it is important to you to get squared away, but please be sure to take care of yourself in the process. Regardless of the outcome you are still an honest, kind and generous man. Your integrity shines through in every word. Sending so much kind wishes (and some money when I he paid tomorrow!). Love to you.

  9. I received a beautiful bear from you and it is still in the box. It is the really old vintage greeny-blueish yarn. I am “holding” it for a future grandbaby – but if it would help you out, I can mail it back to you and you can “owe” me a bear one once you get caught up. Then you can send this bear to someone who is being impatient about their order.

  10. I am patiently waiting for my bear but I donated to you today because I like to read what you have to say. I hope it all comes together for you.

  11. I feel for you. I’ve done that myself. Hopefully you can get to the point you can knit and then sell and not have to take orders.

  12. Reading your post i see that you are a such hard worker and put a lot of care and love into your bears, but have you thought of crocheting them? There is a fantastic technique called amigurumi, now i know you can knit amigurumi creatures but i’ve found that crochet works up a lot faster than knitting. It might help you get them out that little bit faster so you can pay your rent, i know how hard it is to keep the balance 🙂

  13. I know if I looked harder I could find the answers, but my memory is failing me. Have you calculated the time it takes to make each bear? Have you thought about putting a “estimated wait time” for your bears. So that you can pace yourself. People know it takes time to make things by hand, and it costs more for it too. like the beautiful, made in the usa, dyakcraft needles that had a 12 month wait. you will get through this and if people were truly willing to buy something made by hand a beautiful, they will wait.

  14. Keep breathing. I support you and appreciate your blog and all you are trying to do. Many others do too. We learn a lot more when we try new things and make mistakes. Your bears are wonderful. Thanks for offering them.

  15. you know you have our love, and if a few dollars help, I have just bought a bundle for a friend for xmas 🙂 you have survived this before and will again.

  16. Hang in there! and DON’T give up!

    It’s tough being an artist with a gift to make something that people want to buy. It’s not like you can snap your fingers and clone yourself, right?? You’ll learn, by trial and error, (like the rest of we entrepreneur artists) how to get better at setting your timeline for delivery so people have reasonable expectaions.

    I’ve had to eat my share of humble pie and beg forgiveness from a customer, because there just wasn’t enough hours in the day to get it done in the original time frame I had set.. A GOOD customer, the kind of customer that you should be looking for, won’t be a jerk and a jackass when REAL life gets the way of your work life. I donated and will wait until you get bears in your shop again to buy one.

    God bless you and keep your head up.

  17. I understand from both sides of the coin and empathise. I ordered my bear a year ago (possibly even longer than that) for my newborn niece.

    I’ve sent emails that have gone unanswered. All I wanted was a time frame. But I got nothing. I’ve now given up completely, which is sad. Good luck with sorting it all out.

  18. Yes I just bought a second bundle thinking it was me messing up. But no worries. Right now you need the money and so I am helping as much as I can. Keeping breathing and plugging away.

Leave a Reply

