Mama Bears

You know, every once in a while I get a photo from someone who has adopted one of my bears and it never ceases to amaze me how well received they are. My bears become a part of people’s lives, whether it be much needed company during troubled times, or a symbol of inspiration, or a friendly reminder of someone’s love for you.

unnamedwpid-20141116_083902_1_bestshot

I recently received these two pics and I had to share with them with you. The first is from Claire, whose teddy she has snagged to one side and her newborn on the other. THAT is touching. Then the second is from Katy who adopted one of my bears for her newborn, then purchased the pattern so she could make more teddy bears for all her little ones. She has a blog called “Creative Crochet,” so you should check out her work.

There hasn’t been too much going on around here. Busy knitting and writing, jumping fully into my desire to be top knitting dog of 2015 and buy my own house 🙂 My landlord has agreed to let me sign another year lease at the end of February (which was weighing on my mind), so I feel so much better knowing I won’t have to be looking for new digs any time soon.

The new book is coming along well. After some great chats with my friend in the Netherlands, we seem to have talked out a way to approach the narrative from a different point of from. The direction I was taking wasn’t working, so like any artist should, put it down, step back, leave it alone, don’t force it. And it seems to be working!

IMG_1164I have this delicious bear I finished up last night made with Ultra Alpaca from Berroco. Yep, that’s right, fine and fluffy %50 Alpaca, 50% Peruvian wool. Makes a cotton ball feel like sandpaper, it’s that soft. And I decided to stick with the classic brown teddy bear this time around. Sometimes less is more. He measure’s 12″ from head to toe, is ready to ship and comes with a signed card by me. If you’d like to adopt him, click here.

Ya’ll bundle up and stay warm!!!!

 

 

3 comments

  1. Oh, what WONDERFUL photos! And the bear held by the baby really shows us how big the bears are. Thank you for sharing these with us.

    Gina
    Central NYS

  2. Has the top knitting dog ever considered knitting a dog? Your bears are adorable – I love this one you just posted – and I can’t imagine how cute a dog by you might be.

    This is also my first comment, so I’m going to tell you that I really enjoy reading your blog and I think about you every time I buy yarn you’ve mentioned – like the Cascade Eco Cloud. I think your story is very inspiring and your determination is motivating.

Leave a Reply

