Say Nothing

I feel like I’m not blogging enough lately. Maybe because I’m spending most of my writing time finishing up my book? Maybe because it has been pretty quiet around here, save the clicking of bamboo knitting needles striking each other like swordsmen in a duel. Maybe I just don’t have anything to say right now? I mean, not in a BAD way, just……one of those comfortable silences. A wise man once said, “Say nothing.” So, rather than go on and on about what I ate for dinner, just to hear myself talk, or have something to say to fill the void of silence, I’ll just reserve my thoughts for something more contemplative and meaningful.

There’s some value in taking some quiet time when things go well. It’s almost like, rather than stewing about something and have it eat at your soul until you feel sick from all the rot, the good kind of silence comes from contentment, when the soft sonnets of cicadas temper and you suddenly realize they’ve stopped their song. We’re all so afraid of silence, so addicted to our own voices, that the resonating, deafening shriek of the ego demands constant attention, that we rarely if ever have nothing to say. If no one hears something we’ve said, or if we’re not constantly chit chatting then we don’t exist in this new world where every one has the option (often the poorly chosen option) of offering opinion. It’s not our fault, mind you. It’s the trickery of this new indulgence we love called the internet. Sometimes its best to leave our opinions, and our thoughts to ourselves. Sometimes it’s best to keep quiet for a minute so that you can listen, not to someone else, but to yourself. Sometimes there is very good healing of the soul when you say nothing.

….damn. I guess I did have something to say…..Sorry about that!

IMG_1167Got a bear for ya. Measures 12″ from head to toe, ready to ship with a signed card by me, made from Lionbrand’s Wool Ease. I love this color combo of green and grey. Something classic and chic, even contemporary about it. If you’d like to adopt him, just click the picture.

If you’d like to buy my book and pattern bundle on craftsy, click here. The bundle is a pdf that contains not only my book, “MAD MAN KNITTING -or- the waiter and the fly,” but four of my patterns. The bear, the tiger, the bunny, and the bear dressed up in a mock sweater with hat and scarf.

If you’d like to buy it directly from me, click here. Just be sure your email is correct in check out, that’s the email address I’ll be sending it to.

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

8 comments

  1. LOVE this color combo! Maybe my favorite yet, and I’ve been following you for a year and a half, and have three if your beautiful orsine art pieces!

  2. Love this colour combo as well. I’m a big chartreuse fan and this is close enough. Trying to find time to get reading the rest of your first book. Things happened after the first chapter and I didn’t get back to it. Better do so soon. Finding balance between life, writing, working – always a challenge, one I face everyday too.

  3. I like silence myself. I talk all day at work, working the front desk of a dentist office is like that, so in the evening I don’t mind being quiet. I think sometimes it’s hard for my daughter because I am quiet, but she talks enough for the both of us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

