Knit Space

As we’ve talked about, my little home, my little haven, my little apartment is only 10 x 20 feet. But, after having been homeless, I’m sure you can imagine how happy I am to have it. I’m about to sign my third lease. Yup! I’ll have lived in this little apartment for two full years now and look forward to a third. So, my friends and I started agreeing that we should decorate it more, make it solidly mine, get creative with the limited space and turn this into a long term home.

This little corner of my apartment has become my little “knit space.” I think every knitter truly could use a good spot to knit in, to keep the world quietly at bay while you pray with your stitches all the joy and hope you hope to convey with your projects, to be alone with your stash and read what they’d like to one day be. Yeah, I think every knitter needs a good “knit space.”

IMG_1189With the help of some super discounted bookcases from Walmart, a $4 reed fencing from Home Depot, a coupon for half off of artwork at Hobby Lobby, and a chair found on the side of the road, I think we did a good job in turning this little corner into a charming spot for me to work, for me to dream, for me to spend another lovely year in this little flat creatively pursuing hope for the future.

IMG_1192I think it came out rather nicely. And the best part? I got to put all my great yarn on display. Finally pulled them out of boxes and lined them up nicely on shelves for everyone to see, for me to scan and conceive of what my next bear would look like. Ha! And you can see my military rucksack which doubles as my very own manly knitting bag 🙂 Oh! And see that big ol’ mug on the desk? My coffee cup. Never empty….

So, it’s a good way to look to the future. To hold it close with a sense of hopeful accomplishment and safety. To find momentum in the things, places, settings, and faces that inspire. To surround yourself with the things you need to inspire good moments in life.

Next up? I’m saving my pennies for a microwave. A microwave would be nice 🙂

If you appreciate my writing and you’d like for this blog to continue, please support! This blog survives because of you!

14 comments

  1. So cozy!

    Not sure if you already know about Freecycle but you should see if there’s a group in your area. I’ve gotten my washer, dryer and the majority of my furniture from the lovely people in my area. Microwaves are definitely normal give-aways here in Arkansas. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. P.S. My sister got a microwave at Goodwill — perfect working order and clean — until she could afford something else. I hope you can get a new one, but you might just check Goodwill. And Restore, if you have one.

  3. what a nice spot to work in 🙂 my neighbour calls her microwave a milkcrowave as after 5 kids she seemed to spend more time heating bottles in hers than anything else 🙂

  4. You did a great job with that little corner, congrats! It looks very cozy and inviting. I do hope you can get a microwave before too long but keep your eye out also for a foot stool. Otherwise, your back may start bothering you after spending many hours knitting in that chair.

  5. Looks like a fabulous work space. I love how the yarn is so handy now as well as beautiful and inspiring and your knitting nook looks inviting and comfortable. I hope it works as well as you hope, but even if you go back to knitting wherever you used to, this looks like a nice corner to have in your home.

Leave a Reply

