Crampy Handed Anniversary

Again, I have to apologize for not having been around the last while. This issue with my hand and left arm settled me into something of a one armed knitter, boldly trying to work up stitches while whispering a few profanities under my breath. So, there was no way I was going to attempt to write this whole time. It was just a little bothersome and made me all…..pissy. Mean pissy. The sad part is, my hand hasn’t gotten any better. So, it’s another trip to the acupuncturist to see what he can do. I’m even going to hit Walgreens and buy a wrist brace, see if that works. I know its a work place hazard for any knitter to get cramps and pinched nerves in the hands and wrists, so this is nothing new. Hell, this happened a year ago. So, what do you do? You get on with it.

I’ll be sure to respond to all my emails as quick as possible. So again, sorry for being silent. Was just unable to type as well as I like to 🙂

unnamed5But I got one email from Kirsten Fjoser all the way in Ireland who was kind enough to send me a picture of one of my bears she had adopted for her little baby. Isn’t that sweet? I love when I get pics like this. I truly do. 🙂 Makes the pain in your hand go away. Makes you wanna fire up a pot of hot coffee and get back to work.

IMG_1216On the really good news front! February is my anniversary. I sold my first bear in February of 2011. Starting with one little bear, this little man was saved from homelessness, isolation, and desperation. That one little bear opened up a world for me that I never could have fathomed. That little bear fed me, clothed me, brought me friends from all over the world, and gave me a purpose. So, in honor of my anniversary I’m going to start a new tradition. Only in February will you be able to get the recreation of my first little bear. And once he’s gone, he’s gone until next year. Ladies and Gentlemen….”The Teddy Bear That Saved Me,” back with his sweet, inquiring pout. There will only be 10. Signed, dated and and numbered as Limited Edition February 2015, made of Lionbrand’s Fisherman’s Wool in Oak Tweed, and measuring 12″ tall from head to toe. If you’d like to adopt him, click here. So snag one now! They’ll all be delivered by Valentine’s Day so you can save someone else with this little cuties. You can rescue someone’s heart. Besides, this will also help me finish gathering my funds for the month. So! Cheers! Who wants the first one?

IMG_1220Oh! And I also have this little guy done up in Fisherman’s Wool “Natural.” This little one is ready to ship with a signed card by me. If you’d like to adopt him, click here.

So, happy anniversary everyone! And that’s right! It’s OUR anniversary. Mine, yours and the bears.

I’ll talk to you later!

 

10 comments

  1. Sorry your arm has been giving you so much trouble. Once you’ve met your February orders, it might be an idea to rest it a little if you can. Something I’ve heard about but never tried is cubic needles – some people get less pain using those than traditional ones. I don’t know if they come as DPNs, but it may be worth checking out.
    Wishing you a speedy recovery.

  2. Try taking vitamin B6 not the multi or b complex. It will reduce the swelling in the wrist tissues. This has helped me for years

  3. I hope you won’t mind getting a bit of advice from this great-grandmother. I have neuopathy in my hands–burning and stinging and numbness. A friend suggested Benfotiamine, a synthetic form of Vit. B1. I took 300mg and within an hour my hands felt much better–and my numb left hand began to feel and move again. People take up to 900mg a day, so I tried doubling the dose, but I didn’t feel better and I got a headache, so I dropped back to 300mg a day. I have been taking Benfotiamine for a couple of years now and if I miss a dose, my hands sting and burn. Benfotiamine is a very inexpensive, over-the-counter form of Vit. B1 available in any drugstore. I hope it might work for you too.

    I hope your hands will feel better soon.

    Patricia

  4. I actually sleep in those lace-up wrist braces. During the day I don’t wear them, but I do wear lycra wrist/hand warmers when I knit. The braces and the warmers really do help me.

    Hope your hand and arm feel better soon!

Leave a Reply

