Stamp Out Hunger

SOH2015_button_linkSo, not sure if you’re aware, but if you’re not, then that’s why I’m here🙂 Tomorrow, May 9th, is the Stamp Out Hunger Food Drive sponsored by the post office. It’s pretty simple, any can of food you have, or any non perishables in a box, you place in a grocery bag and place at your mailbox. The mailman picks it up, and off it goes to be distributed to your local food banks. I’m a big fan of things like this. I truly am. It is an effortless way to help your local charities fight hunger. I know what hunger is. I’ve experienced it many times in my past. And I may not have much now, but this is a very easy and convenient way to share the same blessings that have been bestowed upon me. I’ve learned to shop well, eating well on a limited budget. And it can be done! Cans of tuna were buy-0ne-get-one-free this week at Publix. So, that is a very easy way for me to help out and keep a can for me, and a can to donate. Cans of beans were on sale %50. Boom! A can for me, a can to help out. Now, your grocery bag doesn’t have to be busting at the seams. If you have a can or two in your cupboard of something you haven’t really a fancy for, by all means, hand it off to the post office tomorrow and help out someone hungry. Get your little plastic grocery bag, raid your pantry and see what you can help out with. Nice! Little things, everyone doing little things truly does make a big difference.🙂 If you want more info, here’s a link to the post office website explaining the whole deal.

IMG_1780I still have this little guy. So sad, so unwanted🙂 He’s been lingering around my apartment for a week now and I just look at him sadly. I keep telling him, “Don’t worry, man. The right one will come along and take you home.

Gonna head out now outside and enjoy the evening. Remember my last post about my pizzas? We’ve affectionately started calling them “tortizzas.” With the left over tortillas wraps, we’re busting out some quesadillas and watch “Agent Carter.” Funny how Phillip has me learning more about this comic book, cosplay world that he adores so much. I’ve recently learned I’m dating an “Otaku.” Not sure what it is? Ha! Then you’ll just have to look it up.🙂

Don’t forget to spend the evening raiding your cupboard!….oh! And give that sad bear a home! Peace!

IMG_1439

 

 

To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” or a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. 

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

2 comments

  1. I feel so bad for the bear, unfortunately I’m in financial dire straits myself and can’t support you financially! I have shared the post on Twitter – hopefully he’ll find a home soon.

    Just wanted to say that I love it when you share snapshots of your life with Phillip. You seem so happy with him!❤

Leave a Reply

