Sheep(ish) with Boiled Peanuts

IMG_1841If you’ve followed this blog for a while, you know this day was coming. You knew it would happen, and if you REALLY read this blog on a regular basis, you know were anticipating today as much as I was. That’s right, kids. It’s boiled peanut season and today I got my first big, gorgeous, beautiful, luscious delicious batch🙂 Oh man, oh man, oh man! Boiled peanuts are just one of those simple pleasures I look forward to. For a few months in the summer, they are a big part of my weekly diet. Love them, I tell you. LOVE them. I had been calling the produce market for a few days, asking them if green peanuts had come in yet. See, here’s the trick. Check the magnolias. Yep. When the magnolias start to bloom you know two things are ready. One, the ocean is warm enough to jump in. Two, green peanuts are ready for boiling. So, as soon as I saw the magnolias across the street brighten and bust open with a bloom, I started calling the produce market. And earlier today? They finally came in🙂

IMG_1837So, while my peanuts were boiling, I worked up this little bear using some of Vickie Howell’s yarn. This is “Sheep(ish)” through Bernat. I really liked working with it. I love it’s slight fuzziness. Easily manageable, but still nice and tender. Great yarn! I’d really like to work with this stuff more. I picked the yellow because….well, damn. I really don’t have an answer. I liked it! I dunno. I was feeling inspired by the golden glow of the early summer sun, I guess🙂 Next time I’m at Joann’s I’ll have to pick up more colors and play some more. Yeah, really liked this yarn and looking forward to making more bears with it. As for now, this is the only one, so if you’d like to adopt him, click here. He’s ready to ship with a signed card by me.

Ok, I know I have a lot of updating to do (and I will!), but for now? Gonna go tear up some boiled peanuts! Yeee HAAAA!

 

4 comments

  1. I’ve never had boiled peanuts…..wish I could try one! In Michigan everyone is on the ‘hunt’ for morel mushrooms right now! Enjoy!!!!

Leave a Reply

