Some Things to Thank About

No, you didn’t read it wrong. It does say “Thank,” and I wasn’t being colloquial, nor speaking in vernacular, nothing like that.

I’ve written this sort of post before. But, this one is a touch different.

I’ve taken radio silence the last week or so. It’s imp0rtant for me to do that on occasion. To slip back for a second and just listen, not talk so much, and just listen. Be receptive. And when you do that, you get a loud message. HUGE, I tell you. You hear nothing else.

The message I got was of a need to truly explore gratitude.

Don’t get me wrong. I am truly grateful for the amazing life I’ve been living. A wonderful life that no one in the world could have foreseen. I was given something precious. I was given something rare and exceptional. And I don’t dismiss it. But, I haven’t really explored it as well as I should.

As I lay my head on bed in the evening, I close my eyes and think of all the brilliance that is to come. But, in order to achieve that, I have to remember, I have to cling to the solid idea that I must be daily grateful for everything I have now.

IMG_1870So, I’ve decided to embark on a 30 day journey of gratitude. I’ve posted on my refrigerator a list. Everyday I’m going to wake up and mark something that I am so grateful for. As you can see, the first thing on my list was you. I wouldn’t have this life, if it were not for you. I came calling, and you heard, and you offered over your love to me. And because of that, I am able to wake from bed every morning and praise the heavens that you found me, that you support me, that you read about this life of mine, and share it with me. If anything, first and foremost, I am grateful to all of you for being here with me, sharing with me your own journeys. So, if you’re up to it, put a piece of paper on your own fridge, catalog for the next 30 days all that you’re grateful for. I’ll be doing the same. And we’ll share with each other. This should be a great experience for all of us. Because every day I look at that list, I’ll add something new….and I have all ideas by the end of these 3o days, some of those things that we add to our lists don’t exist today. We’ll learn about all the things we forget about. OR! Even better….NEW things that have come into our lives that we have to be grateful for.

I can do stellar things with my life. And I plan to! But, for just a minute, I need to remind myself of the beauty and brilliance that has brought me here. And that would be you.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to turn the laptop off, pull some Stevie Wonder on, and dance. Life is so much better, YOU feel so much better when you just say thank you!….then dance🙂

IMG_1439

 

 

To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” or a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. 

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

 

4 comments

  1. As I was reading your post today I was reminded of my little one get ready for her nap yesterday. She has one of your bears and was giving it big cuddles before wrapping it up ‘nice cozy’ and tucking it into bed. She does this every day. We live on the other side of the world from you and yet you have given us such a beautiful part of our daily routine. That’s what I’m thankful for today!

Leave a Reply

