The Gifts of Talent

So, one might question, “What is with this 30 days of gratitude, anyway?” Well, it really is quite simple. I want to soar! I want to be successful, want the Universe and everything and everyone under the sun to know how grateful I am for all that I have and am.

My life stagnated somehow. Now, just follow me for a second.

After knitting my way out of homelessness, I saw a great horizon on the future. I saw the possibilities and potentials of what could one day be a solid life built from hard work, of a comfortable life where I resign myself to giving back all the blessings that have been given me, of a happy, joyous, blissful life.

But, that’s always been the problem….I saw the great horizon over there. And as far as I could tell, it was ALWAYS going to be OVER THERE…..and never here, right here, as long as I always viewed it as some day in the future, it was never going to be a moment in the present. I don’t want to consider horizons, I want to consider the top of the  precipice. And the only way to make that a reality is to realize and remember with great force, that I AM living the great life I had wanted so badly when I was homeless.

I want to be successful. Of course, that term is subjective. Different people have different ideas of success. For some, it’s money, for others it’s a job, and for some success is merely a sense of accomplishment. I think that’s where I fall in. I have accomplished so much, and instead of thinking too large and hard about what I haven’t accomplished yet, it’s high time to sit and remember that I AM SUCCESSFUL. Do you remember that little white house of mine? The one I dreamed about, and hoped for? Do you know why that house wasn’t mine? Because when I saw how much it was, the first thought in my head was, “I’ll never be able to afford that. Never.” I doomed myself. Why couldn’t I have bought my little white house? Because I told myself I wasn’t successful enough to have it. I could never be so bold as to have something so great as a dream fulfilled. A house of my own. Well, that’s a bunch of crap. I have books I can sell, patterns, teddy bears I work up, and a smart, ambitious, hopeful outlook on the world and life, I am a success. I can work to achieve anything at all in the world that I can conceive. I’m going to own my little white house. And do you know why? Because I said so🙂

IMG_1886So, it’s day 4 on my list of things to grateful for. As you can see, Phillip came next, after all of you. You saved my life. He, in his own clever way, keeps me creative. Never has a bad thing to say about my work, and always says with such pride to everyone he meets what I do for a living. Then, of course, was Mario. ‘Nuff said🙂 And today, without a doubt, the next thing I wanted to show gratitude for was the gifts of my talent. I would not be where I am today, had I not been given by the gifts of knitting and writing to feed myself and find a place to live. And I could never in my life consider being  successful had I not your support, the comfort and care of a really great guy, a scruffy cat at my side and two hands always busy with knitting needles. With these things? I can go anywhere, do anything, have anything, be anything that I want. Because of these things I am successful.

IMG_1893IMG_1888IMG_1895IMG_1897I have two bears for you today. The first one, this classic brown one is made with an alpaca/acrylic blend. SO freakin’ scrunchy soft. This is more yarn from Ella Rae that was gifted to me, and sadly, the last of it. So, it is a definite one of a kind. The second bear is this awesome sort of interesting shift of browns and greens that reminds me of…well, I don’t know how to say it, but “That 70’s Show.” I don’t know why, perhaps because it’s just a color combination that was so popular back in the 70’s. When I first started working him up, I was nervous. But, then I saw his little face, and tied on his bow and went “Damn, your handsome.” He’s not ONE of a kind, he is TWO of a kind. I had enough of that yarn (can’t remember the yarn company!) to do another one, which you can see I’m already deeply into and should have finsihed any minute. They are both ready to ship with a signed card by me. Just click on the picture of the one you’d like to adopt. oh! and I was just playing around with this “Mad Man” sort of creature. Not sure where to go next to him, but I consider him my….downtime? Yeah, just something to tinker with to keep the creative juices flowing.And don’t forget to snag a signed copy of my new book! I see great things happening today, not tomorrow, but right now. Every book that sells gets me closer and closer to the next big step in my life. And with a big smile, I say to the Universe, thank you!

IMG_1439

 

 

To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” or a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. 

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

 

3 comments

  1. Hey Greg…cute little bears! I was wondering if you had gotten my email a couple of weeks ago? It would’ve been from writerprincess5667@gmail.com…you had offered to send me a teddy bear for my project to provide bears for my local hospital for parents that have lost a pregnancy or had a stillborn baby…I have tried to knit one from your pattern using dpn’s and the stitches keep falling off!! Maybe eventually I’ll be able to figure it out! I’m thinking that I should take a class at my LYS or if you would make some videos on how to use dpn’s that would be awesome!! I’m grateful for you my friend!! 🐻🐻🐨🐯🐨🐯🐯🐻

Leave a Reply

