On the 12th Day Of Gratitude, My Landlord Gave To Me….

IMG_1929On the 12th day of gratitude, my landlord gave to me….a great feeling of understanding. We had a great talk the other day and all was taken care of. With such a great thanks to you, I get to keep my apartment for another month. So, in this month long journey of giving thanks to all things that come my way, I definitely had to put on my list both my apartment AND my landlord. I am so grateful to have this apartment. After having nothing for so long, I was so happy to finally have a little 10×20 studio for Mario and I to rest our heads. And I was so grateful that my landlord took a chance on me three years ago. I finally had a few dollars to rent a place and no one, and I do mean no one, was willing to rent to a self employed knitter with a cat, but no car. And I was eternally grateful to her just a few days ago when she showed understanding. So, all is well. Other things I’ve added to my list come from a long day of thought, or something that may have happened, and just before bed, I jot down on my little fridge the one thing for that day that I’m truly grateful for. It’s interesting to see the list progress.

IMG_1928And I was asked the other day what a “tortizza” is. Ok! Pretty simple! And a very cheap way to make a pizza. To begin with, I buy flour tortilla wraps (the big burrito size) when they are on sale. So, I usually end up getting 20 wraps for about $2. And you can make sandwich wraps, quesadillas, chips for a salad or chili, all kinds of things. But, tortizzas are a big go to for me. Brush a little olive oil on the top side, toss on some cheese (also, only bought when buy-one-get-one-free), slice up a tomato and BOOM! Place in a 375 degree oven for about 5 or 10 minutes, watching for the sides to crisp up, then take it out, let it rest for  a minute or two and YUM! Slice the bad boy up, and you’ve got a tortizza. It’s also a great way to clean up the fridge. Yup! Got just a handful of spinach or mushrooms, toss them on! I’m growing some basil out back so I garnished with some leaves. Got some red pepper flakes? Some Parmesan? Hell yeah! Throw that on there too. You can pretty much do anything you would with a pizza. Now, one whole tortizza is enough for one person. So, if you’ve got a family of four, let everyone make their own, bake their own, then have their very own. Awesome.

IMG_1893IMG_1888Now, these two little bears have been here for a good week or so. TIME FOR THEM TO GO! Now, the little brown bear is made with Ella Rae Alpaca. SOFT little guy, measuring a good 12″ from head to toe. He is one of a kind and ready to ship with a signed card by me. If you’d like to adopt him, just click here. Now, the other bear, whom I call “That 70’s bear” really does have the cutest face, and some interesting coloring. Now, he had a mate, exactly like him, that got adopted last week so he’s a TWO of a kind. (I wanted to finish off the skein and managed to get two bears out of it). He’s also ready to ship with a signed card by me. He’s made of wool and measures 12″ tall. If you’d like to adopt him, click here.

And! I was able to get out my order of 20 books, and managed to save a nice chunk because I ordered in bulk. Again, thanks to you. So! They’ll be here next week and then they’ll be signed and sent off to you! Thank you again! Truly, I am overwhelmed sometimes when I remember how much all of you believe in me, and know that I can do good things and accomplish even greater things….one teddy bear (and one book!) at a time.

Ok! So, that’s a nice update, isn’t it? Nice way to end the week. Phillip is here, and we’re gonna make some sandwiches and scarf down potato chips and, like many of you, are gonna spend our Friday night binge watching the new season of “Orange is the New Black.”

Have a nice weekend everyone🙂 And I truly mean that. Have a great weekend. (Oh! I know what I’m gonna put on my list for today…..Today I’m grateful for….when weeks end well.🙂 )

IMG_1439     To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” or a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. 

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

Leave a Reply

