Big Sunday Dinners

IMG_1943I put on this list of gratitude tonight, the idea of the big Sunday dinner….or supper, depending on your rearing.

I had a great weekend. As I had promised myself, I binged on “Orange is the New Black,” did an ENORMOUS amount of knitting, got some orders filled….and even experimented with knitting up an elephant, and capped off this lovely Sunday with an idea I’ve always adored. The big Sunday dinner.

I never had those growing up as a kid, and now as the world swirls closer into a strange mode of disconnect, I think Sunday dinners have such an importance. Who knows? Perhaps life is more connected with a big table, loved ones and strangers both gathered to share a big meal, big discussions, big hearts filled, and big smiles on once lonely faces as they walk into another week in a life that can often be filled with fierce detachment and isolation. Perhaps the family bond would be tighter, the neighborhood richer, the community stronger if we all pulled up to a long table and not only shared a meal, but shared our lives, our laughter, our pain, our holding of hands as we give great gratitude at the feast of coompanionship and closeness.

IMG_1940So, with Phillip around, I get the chance to have a big Sunday dinner. We had pork chops, mashed potatoes and peas. Great evening. Perfect company. Perfect dinner. Perfect way to begin the week.

And I get to go to bed grateful tonight that there is such a thing as a big Sunday dinner. Can’t wait to have my own home one day, my little white house, big long table, solidly waiting for company to come join me for Sundays, the smell of a home waiting for laughter, the warm hug of friends as they greet me at the door. And maybe that is the end result of all my knitting and writing. To get there, to that place, where I can share a Sunday dinner with friends and strangers.

Sundays were made for gratitude and enjoyment.

IMG_1939Knit up this little bear this morning. He’s a one of a kind. Made with Lionbrand Fisherman’s Wool for the body, and the last of the Ella Rae alpaca for the sweater. He’s 12″ tall and ready to ship with a signed card by me. If you’d like to adopt him, just click here…..

…and while you do that, I’m gonna sneak some left over mashed potatoes, and rest my head. Gonna sleep tonight, thinking fondly of Sundays.

IMG_1439     To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” or a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. 

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

 

2 comments

  1. Gregory, I received your book in the mail today and I had to tell you something. I sat at my desk opening the package on my lap. One of your adorable bears was perched in his spot, on top of my computer speaker, watching me. While I did not touch the desk in any way, at the moment your book came out of the package, the bear fell off his perch. I think he was glad to see you again! Best to you, Laura

Leave a Reply

