199 Years Ago Tonight

phantompic2There are many literary buffs out there that celebrate June 16, 1816. It was the evening that changed Gothic fiction forever. In the later hours of the evening, Lord Byron (living in exile in Switzerland) challenged his house guests to write their own ghost stories. Through an evening of heavy intoxication and drug use, they each dealt with their own demons in demoralizing ways….and when they woke on the morning of the 17th, each had crafted the drafts of what would change literature. Mary Shelly wrote “Frankenstein” and John Polidori wrote “The Vampyre,” which Bram Stoker used as his influence for “Dracula.” So, the late evening of June 16th as it rears into the early mornings of the 17th is a big event for fans of gothic literature. For, we consider it the birthday of some of the most memorable monsters ever penned.

Many years back, I took their cue, and wrote my own monster, dealing with the social issues around me at the time. That was 15 years ago tonight. My book, “The Phantom Ghores” was finally penned and finished in the early hours of June 17th in homage to the greats. And I didn’t rehash an old monster, I didn’t rewrite the vampire….No, I created a new monster that reflected the horrors in the current world, a monster that embodied the shrilling pain of what can kill a human in the 21st century:  the need to have everyone look and sound alike, the need to let go of the identity in order to belong to the greater construct, the clique.

So, tonight, 15 years after my monster was born, I’m releasing the dead again.🙂 My delightful deadlies are out tonight, pulled from their graves and ready to be read again. It’s their anniversary as they make way for a sequel. Yup! They are back to pave way for a sequel I’ve been working on. Often bored with television, I write in a serialized style, creating my own cliff hanging suspense to keep me entertained. I sit back, read what I’ve written before, and let the characters guide me. “I can’t wait to see what happens next,” I say to myself as I begin to scribe. Those characters were so rich and vivid that I had to do little, but watch them move in my imagination, then write about their sinister behavior. Even more so, I often listen to music when I write….but, this time I had to go beyond that. I had to compose my own music, because the Phantom Ghores deserved it. So, I scored a soundtrack for my monsters, which you can listen to here.

I love spending time with the Phantom Ghores. They’re a beautiful distraction from knitting, and from the cruel world at large. They’re beautiful, horrible, tragic and sexy. So, I invite you to enjoy my little demons as they coyly flirt with you from the page, as they bat their lashes at you and softly say into your ear, “You belong….”

PhantomEXPfrontFor the next few days I am going to share more of my Phantom Ghores with you as I finish tidying up the sequel, “The Phantom Rogues.” I’m anxious to see what happens to Clayton, and to Taylor, and how the Ghores are going to survive now that their leader is dead, and will the Lady Pearl be able to hide for very long as the Ghores have started looking for her…? I can’t wait to see what happens next🙂

The book is currently available in paperback (autographed!) or PDF. So! For a short bit, let’s distract from knitting and submerge ourselves into the thrilling, heavy lidded sexiness of the Phantom Ghore world.

It’s June 16, 2015, 20 minutes shy of midnight….199 years after the birth of gothic fiction. Perfect timing.🙂

Enjoy!

 

2 comments

  1. Lucky me, I already have three of your books, this being one of them! As soon as my ten month old gets her oldest sister back from her Florida summer vacation, I’ll read them! I still haven’t finished writing my own books lol!

Leave a Reply

