Could This Be It?

I can’t thank Jessica from Yahoo enough for running the article about me on Yahoo Makers. And to Vogue Knitting for picking up the bungalower.com article and rewteeting it. I have my fingers crossed right now. Mario in my lap, knitting needles in hand, I’m patiently waiting to see if this will be the moment, finally, that we’ve all been working so hard for all these years: that I’ve finally found security. That I could finally be safe. And tears quietly fill my eyes and as I think that today could be the day that the struggle with homelessness comes to a close.

What a long and hard road this has been. And what a definite and wonderful moment in life where I feel such a great attachment to all of you, to love. No more loneliness, nor sadness. That life from hence forth can only get better, because of kindness, because of the clutching of a teddy bear….because, first and foremost, because of all of you.🙂

Waiting for Phillip to arrive. We’re going to celebrate with blacked eyed peas, collard greens and corn bread. (It’s comfort food.)

This could be the most important day of my life….And I can’t thank all of you enough for it.

willknitcoversmallThis is the story of how I knit my way out of homelessness. To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” click here, or for a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

24 comments

  1. I saw that Yahoo story early this morning and about fell out of
    my desk chair. YEA! And your dinner sounds wonderful. I may
    just have to make some cornbread tonight, too!

    Gina

  2. I hope and pray that this is the day you were hoping for ….. finally. I’ve heard about black-eyed peas and collard greens for years but I must admit that as a Canadian, I’ve never had the pleasure of trying either one of them before. One of these days, I’ll have to learn how to prepare them.

  3. Hi Gregory,
    I’ve reading all your old posts and feel like I know you. I wish I did in real life, your attitude is inspiring and I love your writing. I had a thought that you could sell your t shirts, I’d love to own one. I hope you hit the big time, you’re a shining example of humanity,
    All the best
    Lisa

  4. Oh, Gregory, I hope this is it for you!! Although how will I ever get one of your bears if you are all famous? *g* I have the pattern, I shall just have to knit my own and think of you. Best of luck, mate.

  5. I just read your story on Yahoo and had to come check out your blog. Your story is very inspiring to me and I plan on sharing it with my son who loves knitting, but is embarassed because it’s not a ‘guy thing’. Your teddy bears are darling! I am also a fellow Etsian. I would love to follow your shop, but can’t figure out how to find you on there! An Etsy link in your sidebar to your shop would be great!

  6. Hi, Gregory! I happened upon the aforementioned piece on Yahoo! Makers, and immediately signed on to Ravelry to get one of your patterns. It may be a bear AND a bunny for me, today! Thank you, thank you for sharing…

  7. Saw your story on Yahoo Maker and followed it to your blog/ravelry patterns. Good for your sir and I wish you all the best!

    I’ve bought your Tiger pattern and plan to knit one for my son (named Calvin) and I will let hime know that his little friend that was designed by fighter!

  8. Patrick,
    on the “hot right now” list from Ravelry your cute bear is on place number 7.
    Congratulations!

  9. Hi, I just wanted to let you know that you may be able to buy a home via USDA Direct rual home loan. Please call the USDA office in your area, but ask for the “Direct” program. Direct means the loan is funded directly from the USDA, not a bank. It is for low income people and self employed are welcome. It is no down, low percentage rate and currently available in most areas. Your credit does not have to be perfect. I would recommend you simply apply, it is very easy and they can help you from there. No application, no answer. Please give it a try! I understand what you are going thru, been there done that! God bless you!

  10. While I was pregnant I was homeless. My ingenuity with woodworking allowed me to get a small trailer for my baby and I to live in. Later I got a college scholarship. Now I have money to buy your book and a bear. I am so happy for you!!!!!! I NOW the feeling.

  11. You are a true inspiration, I’m so glad that you pulled yourself out and your story really moved me. I hope you can start to feel safe and that this is all really happening and that you’ll be all right soon. Sometimes it can be difficult to get through a traumatic experience but you’ve done the hard part now and are starting to see the rewards. I hope you have some people around you that support you and help you when you need it. It was an absolute pleasure reading your hardship story and learning about the inner strength you have as a person.

  12. Congratations and work well done, Mr. Patrick. I admire what you are doing for yourself and how you stay industrious. It inspires and squeezes a hug to my heart. I will be ordering bears from you, sir. Beautiful hand work. – Chris C.

  13. just read your story for the first time ever reading about you , on Yahoo. and i must say man, God bless and I wish you the best. going to be putting in a small order on some bears in a couple days, ill email you and well talk about that.

    you’re a fighter, and turned literally a dime into a dollar. keep up the great work. stay positive bud

  14. I would love to buy a bear from you, but I cannot find your store on Etsy. Can you please provide a link to where we can purchase one? Thank you for your hard work and integrity. Good luck.

  15. My dear man, as a crafter and A PREVIOUS HOMELESS PERSON, you have used your natural born skills to survive! Welcome to the survivors club brother bear knitter! I commend you for your persistant desire to live and succeed in an otherwise very cruel world. Continue with a very humble nature, as God will bless your overnight success greatly. Speak for the homeless, never forget, and be blessed! I would like a bear in camoflage for my collection please.

  16. You’re number #1 on Ravelry’s “hot right now” patterns!!! OK, not you personally but your lovely little bear which, really, is the same thing. I’ve been reading your blog for a very long time and you’re a constant inspiration. I felt like I had to come over to comment for the very first time to say a huge “CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!” Celebrate tonight, you’ve earned it!

  17. how do i say this…
    i don’t follow blogs. i always feel it’s too much work lol. well, the yahoo story brought me to your blog and i am now following it.

    i have limited internet access, right now, but as soon as i’m up and running (God willing, tonight), i will be buying a bear, your books, and your pattern to make my own bears.

    i’m a firm believer that this beautiful country will give you opportunities if you look for them. you took a very bad situation and used the hell out of it. you might not be at the “riches” part of your story YET, but i have no doubt that you will get there.

    i will say a prayer for your continued peace, security, prosperity… and i will follow your blog to keep up with the story of you.

    MEN WHO KNIT ARE ROCK STARS

  18. Im currently reading your book…truly inspirational!
    Must look up your Ravelry patterns once I’ve finished knitting my jumper ☺

Leave a Reply

