Wow. What a Week.

Whew!  HA!

Yes, it was an interesting week. Sorry I haven’t blogged this week, but…..I’ve been a little busy🙂

I’m fine! Ok, ok, ok, I slept for 2 days. Was wiped out. A bit like after you’ve run a marathon and you just huff, you puff, and you fall on the pavement.

Where do I begin? My teddy bear pattern was number 1 on the hot list on ravelry! NICE! My book sold 300 copies! NICE (the full 5,oo0 copies would be even nicer, but NICE NICE NICE!), Herman Cain spoke very highly of me on his radio show. And I have to tell you, this REALLY had me in tears. It was one of the kindest, most gracious things he could have said.(Audio link coming soon).  News 13 did a story on me that (as far as I know) is still in rotation (link to that soon!), and a morning show (shhhh! can’t tell until I do it) would like to have me on to talk about “Will Knit For Food.” I have had 100,000 hits to my blog in 2 days, and thousands of emails from people asking me if I’ll knit them a teddy bear. I’m doing my best to respond to all of them, and I WILL! It just might take a minute, but I will respond to all of them🙂

VERY nice.

It has been a wonderful week, thanks to all of you. And as I’ve tried to explain in every interview I’ve given, that this whole journey has been about us. You and me. All of us. I say “we” in my interviews, so that everyone knows I didn’t come here alone. I was carried with the kindness and generosity of caring people who would not allow a man who believed in his dream to let him fall. You picked me up, carried me, held me, comforted me  in your arms and I will be forever grateful. This has always been more than a teddy bear. This has been about connection between people, a dismissal of the daily disasters that fuel our world in ways that turn us against each other. This journey has always been about kindness and hope…one teddy bear at a time.

oh! I have a new page for those of you that have received your copies of “Will Knit For Food,” read it, and want to review it.

So! I guess we know move to the next chapter in this interesting experience. Both of us. You and me. And I can’t wait to see where this journey leads us.

 

willknitcoversmallThis is the story of how I knit my way out of homelessness. To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” click here, or for a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

 

 

 

21 comments

  1. Gregory, I’m beyond thrilled at what has been happening to you recently! All I can say is that it’s about time and you so richly deserve it. Keep hanging in there, my friend. That dream of the little white house is getting closer for you all the time.

  2. Learned about you from a posting of your story on Facebook. Haven’t had a good smile in a while. I did today. Your story is amazing – and seems so uncommon these days. Maybe someday I can get a teddy bear that you have knitted (sounds like you have quite the backlog at the moment)! Bless you.

  3. I am so happy for you. What an amazing world we have today. About a year ago I clicked on n online link to a small article about you and have been following and hoping that things would start improving for you and your wonderful, wacky journey, eventually leading to you buying your little house. so glad you’ve finaly been discovered by a greater audience. Best wishes.

  4. Congrats to you! I found your story on yahoo news 2 days ago. I watched your videos and read your blog. Your very inspiring & funny. Thank you. If I’m having a bad day, I read your blog or watch your videos & that put a smile on my face. I love your teddy bears. They look so happy, loveable and so hugable.. I would also like to have one. I know it will be a while before you can get all the teddy bears to there new homes. When you do get caught up email me. Thank you :}

  5. I’m so happy for you !
    I’ve followed you from far from my computer, without never leaving a comment, but I had to today : I’m extremly happy for you, you deserve it, really !
    Fingers crossed then for the last copies of your book to be sold😉

  6. okay 301 books, just ordered mine. I can’t wait to order a bear too, and know I will have to be patient to wait for it! That makes it totally worth it, knowing that you are being so blessed. Thanks for sharing your story.

  7. It is your time to receive, you have worked hard to be here.

    Ordered a bear a few days ago and know he will happen in his time. It’s all good!

    Very happy you slept for a couple of days, bet your gonna need to do that a few more times because it feels like things are MOVING!

  8. I’m watching the mail for my book and I bought your teddy bear pattern. As soon as I get some stuff (3 WIPs) off my needles, I am going to start a teddy bear. I love your blog and am so happy for you! Best wishes always.

  9. Congrats! Gregory. Just finished reading your book, ‘Will Knit For Food’, loved it. Gave to a friend to read now. Have followed your blog for over a year now – you’ve come a long ways baby. I should have ordered one if your bears before, will need to do so, but you sound a little backed up right now. Best wishes for continued success – who knows, maybe the little white house will be yours someday.

  10. I ordered the book, the bunny pattern, and pinned both, liked and shared on facebook, too.
    Congrats! Hope to one day have a bear made by you, but I’m sure you’re swamped with requests!

Leave a Reply

