How DO you do that?

So, how does one go about hiring a publicist?

The last two weeks have been an interesting parlay into all the hard work we’ve done….and I don’t wanna screw it up. I truly don’t. I’ve had interviews coming at me from left and right and I love it! I love being able to get my story out. But, I’m not sure how you should do it properly, so that I don’t stumble, fumble up words, sound robotic when I answer the same question again and again. How does one handle attention?

I’ve always shared on this blog this world of mine, this life of a male knitter, who knit up teddy bears just to buy groceries, then turned it into a life long dream of having a home. And this is where we are. I’m a pinch shy of being a little bit famous. And to be truthful? I don’t want to screw it up.

To be absolutely honest, I’m a little nervous. Not scared. I’ve stared down enough madness in life to not be scared. Just nervous. I want to do this right. The world is now taking a closer look at me….and I just want to do right by all of us.

I’ve cataloged my life’s ups and downs with this blog since my very first post. This is a wonderfully high up!…..and I don’t want to see it crash down without knowing what I’m doing.

So, how does one proceed? Whom do you call? And what is their going rate anyway? (I had to laugh when I wrote that. Not sure why, but laughed, nonetheless).

300 books arrive tomorrow in multiple boxes. Can’t wait to take a picture. We’re up to 400 copies sold of “Will Knit For Food.” And I’m itching to push 100 more.100 more copies and I’m good for a year and that would be amazing.

I’m having to move again. But, more about that on my next post tomorrow.

willknitcoversmallThis is the story of how I knit my way out of homelessness. To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” click here, or for a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

9 comments

  1. Gregory – you have to have plenty of mid-sized agencies or independent PR practitioners in Orlando. You could contract out the services (media relations, interview prep, etc.). It’s what I do – but Missouri and Florida are too far separated for me to provide the best assistance. If you want me to look up some possible professionals through the association I belong to – just let me know.

  2. Relax Gregory, you’ll do just fine. You have a way with words that not many other people have. You tell your story much better than any publicist ever could. Those folks charge a HUGE amount of money for their services and I’m not sure it would be cost-effective for you. You’ve gotten this far without one so just keep doing what you’ve been doing on this blog, only now you’ll be doing it live, in front of a camera. It’s perfectly natural to be a bit nervous but don’t let it get the best of you. Trust your instincts and just tell it like it is, without any pretense or trying to be someone that you’re not. I’m sure you’ll be amazing.

  3. Wow. Just wow, Patrick. Such an amazing turnaround. And indeed you don’t want to mess up, and blow this astonishing opportunity that’s come your way. I can’t help with names of agents or publicists, but surely someone in your Fan Club will have some useful suggestions. What I CAN say is that the only thing that makes sense, however you move forward, is to be always and only yourself. No pretense, no airs, no getting sloppy with the truth. Nothing else will work well in the long run, or maybe even the short run. I am utterly delighted for you, and with you.

  4. Dearest Gregory, Thank you for your Insights.. They help me. I am a struggling woman. raised 3 kids alone. I have no home of my own. I should have gotten a house long ago; but thru thinking I was to marry my Prince Charming and have the white picket fence..never happened to me. Once I left my Parents home..I seen how cruel life is. I always wanted a center for my kids..a haven for them to feel safe and come back to with their kids..my grandchildren…and hear the laughter and plant some flowers and also to have a garden.and a koi pond..lily pads..and just being inside a house of my own that with a kitchen to cook meals and a big table for all…and just not to be without the simple basics..most of all know they have a Center….without worry of abuse from someone. I am so Happy for your story..and the teddy bears, lions and tigers..oh my!1that you create with Your Love. Awesome and Totally Significant!! stay a teddy bear in your Heart. How good it is to feel a teddy bear’s Hug. Your Friend, Janet.

  5. How/Where to find a publicist?? Try your local library; if Orlando has an “Authors, Authors” series, contact your local newspaper to see who is in charge of that (in fact the library might know); maybe someone at one of the local new stations who has interviewed you. Just a few suggestions. I know nothing about writing or publicists, but these might be a good start.
    On another note, I just purchased your patterns (4) on Ravelry. Can’t wait to try them.
    Best of luck Gregory. ~ Mary Lea

  6. Wow that is a tough one, a new avenue not traveled before. The best I can suggest is get references and check them out.

    You have a lot of wisdom in you, trust in that and your “gut” feelings.

    This is the time to be nervous, so it’s all good.

    I am sure others who follow your blog and tweets will have some really good tips and suggestions for you.

  7. Hi Gregory! I’ve been following your blog since day 1. It’s amazing to watch your dream coming true. I ordered your paytern years ago. Knit several bears for my daughter who is now 7! I have read your first book. I will be ordering a copy this weekend. Since pay day is Friday. I can’t wait for it! We are all here for you. You may not know many of us personally. But I think that we feel we know you thanks to you letting us into your world through this blog! Keep in writing. We all love you and are rooting for you! This is your time! You have worked so hard and deserve this!
    Take care.
    Kate W.

Leave a Reply

