Wait….Did You Say Marriage????

SO! Let’s start with a much needed topic. It’s time to move. BUT! Don’t let that be a phrase that once haunted us with despair. Now, it’s a good thing. An incredibly good thing. This is the first time since I was homeless that I made the decision to move on. I’ve been in this apartment for the last 3 years, loved it’s tiny little nooks and crannies, and felt cozy comfort in it’s close shell. But, changes are on the horizon, good changes, and it’s finally time to make the move, not because I was asked, but because I decided more space was needed. Phillip and I will be living together. So! I found the perfect spot today, thanks to Danielle who follows my blog! I met with the landlord, filled out the application, was as charming as I could be….and now we wait to see if we’ll get the spot. It’s a charming place just a few blocks from here. And if we don’t, we continue looking. After all, discussion of marriage has been tossed about😉 So, pray I get approved for the apartment. IMG_2071My books have been arriving in shipments of 50 to 100. YAY! Last night I signed them, handed them to Phillip, who put them in envelopes and slapped postage on them. I have a pick up scheduled for tomorrow. And all 300 of my books and t-shirts will be shipped out! YES!!!!! I’m still hoping to sell another 100 more to reach my goal. That would settle my life just nice for the next year. No fear of homelessness. And the occasional treat for myself. Like new shoes! And a new ball cap! IMG_2079Nice, pic, isn’t it? I love seeing that! It’s the manifestation of positive thought. Dreams come true. Every time I sign another book, I feel…..Hmmm. What’s the word? No, what’s the state of mind? Ah! I know. My friend Giovanni said it best. Euphoric.     IMG_2036I promised I would post the link to the news piece that ran on television, and here it is! Forgive me for looking scrawny and a little ill in it…..it’s been a rough five years🙂 And thank you all for the great advice on hiring a publicist! I’ll be working that out on Monday. The minute I spoke with a producer from ABC News, I knew I needed to hunt down some help. And what are we doing right now? Phillip is in the corner watching his favorite anime on his laptop. I have a stick of Nag Champa burning, a pinch of frankincense on my wrist, listening to Mercan Dede, writing to you. There with his Naruto, me with you. It makes me smile. We are both exactly where we want to be. I could not have a better life. Thank you all so much for making this possible. willknitcoversmallThis is the story of how I knit my way out of homelessness. To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” click here, or for a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here. If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every dollar helps!

21 comments

  1. What an exciting time in your life – I bet it feels like a breath of fresh air and a weight lifted off of your shoulders!

    I’m still thoroughly enjoying the company of one of your bears (a lavender one!) who snuggles up to all of my other bears at night.🙂

  2. So, so happy for you! all the best for your upcoming move and the beginning of your life with Philip. Just delighted for you both xx

  3. Oh, Gregory, I’m so happy for both of you! What an exciting time. We can’t wait to see what comes next. Whatever place you find to live, you’ll make it perfect.

    Gina

  4. Congratulations! you are living proof that people are indeed in charge of their own destiny…bravo,gregory.bona fortuna….

  5. That’s wonderful news! So excited for both of you and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that you get that apartment you went to visit. Hope you’ll share some photos of your new place once you get settled in. Take care!

  6. That was a great news piece. Your story is so inspiring and you manage to tell it in a way that people want to root for you. Congrats on the next step! So many exciting things on the horizon for you. Can’t wait to see what happens next. Yay yay Gregory!!!!

  7. I am so happy for you! I wish you all the best form now on! You proved it can be done! Congratulations and best of luck!

  8. Congratulations, Greg; it’s been wonderful and inspiring to follow part of your journey. No matter what happens, it’s easier when you have someone to share it with, the good times and the times of uncomfortable growth.

  9. Congratulations to the two of you! It sounds wonderful. You have been working so hard for this and you very much deserve it. I am still planning to buy your book. I guess I better hurry up!

  10. I think – and maybe it’s only me who thinks it – that you use that cap to sort of hide your face. Maybe it’s a defence mechanism. I dare you to go without wearing one for a while! What does Phillip think?

  11. I am happy to know that you are doing great. God is blessing you with so many great positive things, you deserve it.
    By the way, Naruto is one of my favorite animes too. I am a grown woman and I am not embarrassed to admit it 😉

  12. Amazing! I was really hoping that was the case after reading the your last post and, voila!, it was. Congratulations to both of you. What a wonderful new chapter in your journey coming your way.

    There is nothing better than good news so thank you for sharing yours!

  13. Congratulations! I have been following your blog for three years, though I don’t comment much. I discovered you when I was in my own dark place, you gave me hope. I would come to your site read your adventures and think “if he can do it so can I” At the time I couldn’t afford one of your bears, books, or even the patterns, but I did keep you in prayer. I am in a better place now emotionally and financially, I am putting you on my Christmas wish list, just when I got to a place where I could afford it— you raised your prices! LOL! Nothing wrong with good business sense! I wish you the best and am quite happy for your success.
    All the best. Peace and Love

Leave a Reply

