Hands One Way, Mind Another

Sorry that I haven’t blogged very much lately. My hands have been busy knitting up a storm, and while the fingers while away the wool into teddy bears, my mind has been somewhere else completely.

The first thought is of Peni. I often get a little quiet about this time of October. Peni’s birth and death are both memorialized in my heart in the same week. She passed a few days before her 40th birthday. So, perhaps I shut up for a minute about this time so I can just listen to her in my heart, spend a few days with her, and yes, laugh out loud and out of context thinking of something she would say.

The other thought that has been on my mind is this idea of how to solve homelessness. Kara and I boldly decided while sitting on the steps outside of my apartment that the answer might be found in monasticism. Now, it should be no surprise to many of you that have read this blog for a while that I have a deep fondness for monasticism, and at one point in my 20’s attempted to become a monk. Obviously, that path did not suit me, but the structure of the monastic life has served me well in my own particular way.

I don’t want to say too much on it at the moment, for I’ve been writing my ideas down, hoping to make a plausible argument for how homelessness could be approached by the monastic structure. But, I want my thoughts to be clear and concise, and even compelling enough to hopefully catch wind and get things moving in the right direction.

I just know that I have to do something. I have to. What that something is has been eluding me, so while knitting my teddy bears, I’ve been taking great moments to reflect on what I can do, what I can say, how I can do something of benefit when it comes to this problem.

But, in the meantime, I wanted all of you to know that I was well, busy knitting, trying to keep in touch, and……thinking an awful lot about what I can do to make whatever talents I have of benefit to help. And I just might think that monasticism is the key. I’ll explain more later!

willknitcoversmallThis is the story of how I knit my way out of homelessness. To order an autographed copy of “Will Knit For Food” click here, or for a Limited Edition personalized, signed paperback copy with t-shirt, click here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate!

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

