Cranes For Thanksgiving

I had the best Thanksgiving today.

It was simple enough. With just Phillip and I, we didn’t think it necessary to have a turkey, especially since my teeth probably can’t handle that at the moment. We had a tiny, little 3 pound roast lemon-mustard roast chicken instead. Rounding up the meal, we went the standards. Green bean casserole (or, as I call it, SCREAM bean casserole). Sweet potatoes with brown sugar and marshmallows, Stove Top stuffing (some things are really just better store bought), and some dinner rolls. We watched Starship Troopers while having dinner, because it made sense to us. It’s ridiculous and laughable, but action packed enough to keep us alert while downing such a feast. We truly had the best time. And then we started talking about Christmas. Should we get a tree? Can we afford a tree? We don’t have ornaments, and those can be awfully expensive and mass produced and well…..not really the kind of guys we are. SO! We came up with a brilliant plan.

We’ll spring for a tree. Something simple and smaller in stature. Maybe something practical like a rosemary bush. And how would we dress it?

My health hasn’t been its best lately. I think with the stress of the teeth, my arm, the IRS, and not getting the nourishment I need, I think my immune system was just dwindled down to the point where it was hard to function correctly. I’d do my damnedest, though. It’s just who I am. Fight through it. But, at some point, I found myself for a few days fully clothed, under three blankets, sleeping. I’d get up, fall into a hot tub, sip some soup, then crawl back under a pile of covers, Mario curled up beside me. And with all of that, I was still freezing. With it 80 degrees outside, obviously something was wrong. So, sorry I haven’t been able to respond to everyone’s emails, nor blog at all. I just didn’t have the energy.

Peace park statue

But, in that time, Phillip had the laptop set up beside the bed to keep me company with some of my favorite shows. You know, the kind that distract you with laughter, or interest. I saw a fascinating report on NHK world about Sadako Sasaki, the Hiroshima Girl, who fell ill with radiation poisoning after the atomic bomb was dropped on her city. She was told of a Japanese legend that says if you fold 1,000 paper origami cranes, you’ll be blessed with your wish for wellness. So, the poor girl sat there in her hospital bed folding up paper cranes until she died. Now, THAT is hope. THAT is approaching life in its best possible form: the actions of calm, the homage to peace, can bring comfort in times of turmoil. Simple actions bring great moments to the soul.

IMG_2370So, feeling better after our great Thanksgiving dinner, we talked about our tree and we decided (in this sad world of pain and torment), we wanted our tree to show simple peace, we wanted our tree to reflect simple actions to promote the idea of smaller actions leading to greater moments in the soul. So, right after dinner we started folding paper cranes. We’re going to have a Christmas tree filled with paper cranes and white lights. A tree of hope, of peace, of prayer for greater intentions placed in the world. (Don’t worry, we’re not shooting for 1,000, just as many as we can).

I can’t wait to see it when it’s done. And we will move forth into the future with the memory of the Christmas season our tree was based on a calmer, cleaner ideal. Not of something rushed and hurried.

I’m so hoping all of you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and that you cling to the coming season with a sense of peace, with a joyful heart, and a reminder to put quality of your intentions of giving above the quantity of what you give.

Just the thought of that, makes me feel better🙂

My best,

Gregory

 

10 comments

  1. Happy Thanksgiving I am so happy you had a good one. I love that story growing up with the cranes beautiful story. That will be a beautiful tree I hope you feel better and get better soon. Have a good holiday and a blessed wonderful Christmas. Take care😉

  2. Handmade ANYTHING at, and for Christmas beats mass produced over priced store bought things. I’ll bet your Christmas will be so much more peaceful than a lot of people’s. Good for you. 🙂

  3. That is perfect! What a great decoration for your tree and no better time for it than a season of peace.
    Will you keep them all white? Or fold some out of Christmas paper? And imagine what a zen-like activity that will be for both of you.
    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. So if I wanted to mail you a paper crane for your tree, what address would I send it to, and if you think it might matter, what size square of paper should I start with? Are you planning a color scheme for the cranes, or will plain ole white typing paper do?

    Lemon mustard roast chicken sounds fantastic.

    Regards—

    Ted

    >

  5. So glad you had a good Thanksgiving. Hope you get to feeling better soon. May the peace and magic of the holidays wrap you gently in their arms and keep you and yours safe during this time.🙂

  6. Hope you feel better and better. The tree decorations are a wonderful idea. Can’t wait to see the tree and its decorations. I just know it will be awesome. Continual prayers, Reiki, and positive thoughts for great health, abundance and prosperity for the three of you. Blessings and hugs, Helen
    P.S. You will never know how much you and your blog posts mean to all of us. Thank you.

  7. Please be very careful with your health — as a nurse, I’ve seen teeth issues turn into major and sometimes devastating health issues. Sounds like you had a fever. Don’t let that go too long without having yourself looked at. As always, praying for improvement for you.

Leave a Reply

