The Family That Knits Together….

To begin with, I’m so very glad that so many of you truly enjoyed the first “Guest Blogger” post. I really enjoyed doing that, and I’ve gotten a few responses in my email. All great stories. I’m looking forward to sharing them with you. I’m looking forward to making this blog a platform for so many more people, so many more voices and experiences in this lifting craft of ours.

Secondly, thanks for all the great birthday wishes! Truly kind of all of you to celebrate my birthday with me. And if it were up to me? I’d make January 4thΒ  National Croquet Day.πŸ™‚ That meant so much to me. We still haven’t recovered from our disastrous tax bill, and my health hasn’t been at its best. But, a day of croquet with my husband, leaving all the sourness behind, was the best present I could have gotten. I’m still trying to push my book to help pay off that debt, and Phillip is doing his best to work up some more of his “Strange Friends.”

IMG_2289By the way! Today is our one year anniversary! It’s true when they say you should marry your best friend, the one who makes you laugh, the one that makes you want to do great things for a greater good, and the one that knows when you’re down and does something ridiculous to make you snap out of your scowl and go full grin. Now, look at that picture. Who wouldn’t want to marry that? Yep! I was having a bad day, and he pops in wearing that hat….how could I not laugh? How could I not throw everything into perspective and chuckle?

My mother came down for my birthday. Now, I haven’t seen my mother in 4 years. We talk on occasion, but there was some mending that needed to happen. I don’t need to get into that, but I’d readily like to say, those things have passed. We look forward. We don’t dredge hard feelings. We forgive. We embrace. We move on.

vlcsnap-2016-01-15-08h04m14s938It was a nice weekend visit. And at one point, we were all on the couch knitting and crocheting, gossiping about the Real House Wives (mercy), and laughing at our own foolishness. And that was when the mending began. But, more than that, this was when the embrace began, all through a craft we all share. And it caused me to think, that when a family in some trouble can manage to enjoy doing something together, you’ll find interesting things happen. So many homes are disgraced with each face peering into their own devices, phones, tablets, televisions…..never sharing. But, I saw that a family that spends moments sharing and enjoying each others company really does simple, yet miraculous things for connection.

vlcsnap-2016-01-15-08h04m38s731It was the first time my mother had met Phillip, and she thoroughly enjoyed him, saying, “I see why you adore him so much. He’s a very sweet man. I enjoy watching how you two interact. You compliment each other wonderfully. And I love watching the two of you laugh all the time.”

And now that I’ve taught Phillip to crochet, and he’s having a fun heyday with his “Strange Friends,” we spend much more time together, both on the couch, sharing our thoughts quietly and quickly, laughing when necessary, hushing each other when it’s important. (I laugh now that the tables are turned and I start to speak and he says, “SHHHHH! ……I’m counting…..)

I can’t help but smile. I’m poor as a church mouse…..but, blessed with so much.πŸ™‚

IMG_2164So, if you can, grab a copy of my book and keep this beautiful life going. We actually really need that. We REALLY need that.

Thank you all so much for everything. And Phillip! I know you’re reading this, so Happy Anniversary! I love you, you big goon!

 

 

10 comments

  1. A very happy anniversary to you both…love is everything! I too am struggling financially, but one day, when things are better (and they WILL get better), I hope to get a copy of your book and help you out a tad..’til then, hunny…I wish you and yours the very best for 2016..may the sun shine on us all this year.
    I just wanted to say too, that my heart is broken from the loss of Mr Bowie, so no usual witticisms from me I’m afraid… too, too sad… take care poppet xxx

  2. Hi! I’m new to your blog and your story. It’s fascinating and funny (sometimes) and just uplifting. I want to know if you have any knitting patterns in the book?

  3. Happy anniversary to you and Phillip! May you have years and years together! I enjoy your blog so much and this one in particular. My mother died 17 years ago and I miss her – she and I would do needlepoint together while dad watched TV. So many great memories! Love and blessings to you both.

  4. Belated Happy Birthday! Happy one year Anniversary, and many more! Jan. 4 would not work in MI (usually) for national croquet day but snow tunnels might be fun. Glad you are mending family connections. Does the big goon travel? I could use a good, funny surprise.

  5. Happy Anniversary to both of you, I wish you both happiness and many more years to come. I bought the book and the T-shirt bundle, and bought the bear pattern, I hope my purchase helped. I’m so excited to get them, I was wondering when to expect them, because it’s already been a week. I wouldn’t mind waiting longer though as long as I get them.πŸ™‚ Hope you 2 are having an awesome time together.

  6. Belated happy birthday ! I’m so happy you had a good time, and my heart melted with those pictures of the three of you all knitting and crocheting together. This is so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

