I am Inspired by YOU

Good Morning! It’s about 7:30 am, a frigid 40-ish degrees outside. (Welcome to Central Florida….I’m freezing my butt off.) Phillip is still crashed in bed, having worked his first full shift at his new job. A good 10 hours under his belt. Expecting him to come home exhausted last night, I found him quite exuberant and joyful. He’s just so happy to be working again. He goes in later today for another 10 hours and he’s looking forward to it.

I’ve been up since about 4am. Which is normal for me. I grab the coffee, turn on the radio to hear the news (by that I mean Coast to Coast AM🙂 ) and I get to knitting. Between 4am and noon is my most productive time, usually whipping out two of my bears before noon, then setting them outside for the postman (or post girl in my case…tiny little thing with a purple streak and nose ring….my, how things have changed).

But, I thought I’d take a moment to thank all of you that have commented about how much you’ve enjoyed my recent posts. Since I started this blog, I have seen my writing mature, become more internal, more descriptive of the reaction of the soul to the beauty and the hindrances of real life. And I think that comes from my knitting. I truly do. I value knitting as a contemplative process, a method of meditation born from the repetition of knits and purls. And in that time, the mind is allowed to hear all of  the thoughts your brain has been clogged with, and once you clean all of those out, you get a chance to hear the silence of the soul and you learn something. Something I learn deeper and deeper the more I knit, then write.

It’s usually after a good couple of hours of knitting that I sit down to write this blog and I am so thankful that what I write affects people in such positive ways. Better things happen in life when you align yourself with like minded people. And I am amazed at how many wonderful people I have met throughout the sharing of my work. I brought close to me the hope that I was sending forth. I did not dwell on how horrid the world was, could be, will get. Instead, I pushed an optimism that my life would be surrounded by kindness, compassion, and goodness. And I got what I wished for with all of you here reading this🙂 But, I have to say, for everyone of you that graciously says how much I inspire you, I have to confess that you inspire me so much more. I read about your stories, about your lives, and I’m so proud to be a part of your lives. And you will never truly know how proud I am to have you in mine.

IMG_1436So,  if you’ve enjoyed my posts you’ll be even more amazed at some of the things you’ll read in my book. If you haven’t snagged a copy, please do so, and learn more about this amazing journey all of us have had. And if you have a copy of my book, please tell your friends! Someone commented on how they hoped a publisher would snatch me up. Until then, I’m the publisher, and we have a long way to go before we break the 500 copies sold mark. A LONG way to go. And we also have a long way to go before we’re out of our financial hole and selling my book really is the best way to accomplish that. But, I know I can do it. I’m optimistic that all of my work, knitting and writing alike, will save my little family, will keep this blog alive, and will allow me to continue this wonderful journey that has been made a blessing by you.

Ok. I need to get back to my knitting. I wanna finish this bear up and have him ready to go before Phillip wakes up. I think I’d like to make my fella a congratulatory breakfast this morning before I send him off to his new job. I think nothing says, “Good job, pal!” like a pile of eggs, grits, and bacon.

All of you have a great day! And cast on!

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, and if you appreciate my writing, please donate. Every dollar helps! Your contributions help me keep going and are so deeply appreciated!

 

 

9 comments

  1. Thank you for starting your day with us. I have read all as I sit here knitting and enjoying my morning coffee. This is how I start my day everyday and hearing your kind and positive words is a blessing.
    I, too am sitting here in central Florida freezing.as I make a square to donate for a
    friend. My random act of kindness for today.
    Enjoy the rest of your day, Gregory and stay happy.
    Jackie

  2. Your words are inspiring and wise beyond your years. I am been inspired lately to knit bears for the Hospice center here at Duke University. The volunteer coordinator is begging for the simple teddies, the easy one piece kind, to give out to the children of cancer patients. They are seeing so many young adults with cancer and these patients often have children who must visit them and endure the hours. We usually just give the patient a prayer/care shawl but now they are also trying to give a teddy to any child that shows up for a parent. Your bear knitting reminded me to get on the task of making some bears for the children. Thank you!

  3. Love your writing. Your sharing. Makes me feel good. Congratulations on the new job and hope it continues to be a joy, well as much joy as a job can bring.

  4. I can feel your positive energy radiating off my monitor!!! Now that’s just plain AWE-some! Made my day as I…cough cough…make my day…sneeze….blow….through the day. I have no voice it seems, so am pounding the keys as hard as I can in hopes you can hear me! lol

    Keep it up, my faraway friend! And for gawd’s sake cover yourself with the quilt I sent you!!!!!

    Be well….achoooo

    Oops, sorry….. lol

  5. Love to read your thoughts- I knit and I have “been wanting to” start a blog about the fear of living a life as an inverted triangle (and I don’t mean my physical shape… ). Thanks for the inspiration. Just ordered your book!

  6. Have a think about approaching Hay House (if you haven’t already) for publishing. You have a powerful story and just the right mindset for them… Wishing you all the very best.

  7. YEAH….. I’d like to think I’m your biggest California friend….but would be so happy to know I’m your biggest Sacramento friend…..Thanks for all you add to my life.
    Billie
    Sacramento

Leave a Reply

