This Joyous Life

Monday. 10:30am. That’s my when my doctors appointment is.

I’ve asked Kara to go with me. So, we’ll find out then. Until then, I’ve been pulling so much into my life to make it joyous. No more news. Lot’s of laughter. Watching comedies, turning conversations to the absurd, music that makes me want to dance, KNITTING (!), reading your messages of prayer and hope, walking out the front door at dawn into the crisp cool air to praise the rays as they announce the advent of a new day. I rest when I need to. I eat when I can.

I am a little worried, but I pull out cliches and say, expect the worst, hope for the best, and somewhere in the middle is life as you have always lived it. Did you expect the worst? Or did you hope for the best? And when I think I’ve hit the worst of it, slid across an an oil patch and went headfirst into worst, I’m reminded that this life of mine has been joyous. The troubles I’ve faced, the adversities I’ve conquered rewarded me with an amazing connection that I will ever be able to convey in print. Those are the connections that can only be found in the manner in which you live your life, in the way that you smile, in the compassion you share, and the yearning you have to make every moment you touch mindful of joy.

Life, the world, people, they aren’t as terrible as we’re told they are. The world, and people? They’re just as scared as you are. That at any moment, joy will be replaced with sorrow.

And life? Life reminds us that we should never forget (NEVER!), that sorrow can always be replaced with joy. Blessings come in all degrees and shapes and sizes and amounts and forms and questions and fears…..But, the greatest blessing is the reminder that life, YOUR life, can replace the sorrow of the fear we often live under with the joy we wish to experience….with something as simple as a smile, as a recognition that we are all hindered under a blanket of doom that we’re told often is reality. But it’s not. I promise you from personal experience that life, the world, and people are not filled with doom, they are filled with a joy that they want and need to be reminded of.

I’m not afraid to know my diagnosis. Because I have lived a joyous life, made possible by the courage to connect with you. Because with every word these bony hands pen, I’m doing my part to remove fear, to make our lives better, to bring joy. And no amount of sorrow can EVER conquer that.

This life of mine is so beautifully joyous, thanks to you.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps.

 

20 comments

  1. I do not know how to express the feelings you evoke with your words. Your wisdom, your transparency, your willingness to share your experience with those of us out in cyberland. You radiate such love with every word. I join my prayers to all the prayers I know are being lifted up to God and The Universe on your behalf by all of us who cherish you.

  2. Ordered your book and t-shirt; but, more importantly, will be praying for you and for those who will see and treat you. Many blessings.

  3. “A reminder that a life filled with difficulty is not a punishment. Sometimes the most evolved souls take the most challenging paths. A college student would not be taking spelling or arithmetic, they would be studying literature and advanced mathematics.” Brian Weiss🙂

  4. The Guest House

    This being human is a guest house.
    Every morning a new arrival.

    A joy, a depression, a meanness,
    some momentary awareness comes
    As an unexpected visitor.

    Welcome and entertain them all!
    Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
    who violently sweep your house
    empty of its furniture,
    still treat each guest honorably.
    He may be clearing you out
    for some new delight.

    The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
    meet them at the door laughing,
    and invite them in.

    Be grateful for whoever comes,
    because each has been sent
    as a guide from beyond.
    —–Rumi

    This poem has always guided me towards finding my center. Hopefully it can do the same for you. Although, I cannot financially afford to purchase things from you there are others that follow your writing sending you positive energy. You are right to think the best way to get through life is acceptance. Accept the good and the bad because no matter what there are gems hidden in all of life’s stories. Be well.🙂

  5. Prayers and more positive thoughts are sent to you, Gregory. I feel such love and life in your writings each time I read what you have to say.
    I am ordering your book in the morning. I am very hopeful that your doctor visit will go well. I am glad you do not have to go alone.

  6. I’ve always expected the worst and hoped for the best. It’s easier that way. We would never cherish joy without experiencing sorrow.
    I’ll be thinking of you on Monday and sending positive vibes your way. You will face this head-on, exactly how you live your life.❤

  7. Thank you for this post. It is a humble reminder that there is joy in living, and to be shared, it we but seek it out. Good luck on Monday! I’ll keep my fingers crossed and you in my prayers.

    Zanna,
    Pittsburgh

  8. I’ve been a reader for a long while and have never commented. Today is the day to do so. I’m thinking about you from far away (as I’m sure others are) and hoping for nothing but the best. Thank you for being so open about your life and letting us all in to help lift you up. I’ll be sure to send good thoughts your way tomorrow morning.

  9. I’m so happy you’re seeing a doctor. I have a feeling it will be the beginning of your road back to health. I’ve given several of your bears as gifts, and I just received your book. Your writing and your spirit are gorgeous and nourish my soul. We need you! Please post as soon as you can after you see the doctor, hopefully we can help you get well quickly. I’m sending big love and all my healing wishes. 💜

  10. Gregory, I will be praying for you tomorrow, that the Drs. will have wisdom and understanding. And that you will continue in your wonderfully, positive atitude! Praying for good outcomes with every stitch I knit! Please feel all of our love as you walk thru this tomorrow. And please keep us posted as soon as you can!
    xoxo

  11. Dear Sweet Gregory:
    Much love and Prayers from the heart of California. After “finding” you in the Internet, I can not imagine my life with out you and your magnificent words. While you knit bears “looking at one right now”. You gifts include much more, writing to make us aware of things around us, seeing the beauty around us or just difficulty in dealing with the worlds challenges. I so look forward to great news from your doctor and the continuing journey of you, Phillip and your furry friend Marlo. Much love and virtual hugs, Billie from Sacramento

Leave a Reply

