…and It Was Joyous

I’m sorry I haven’t been so available lately. My energy level wasn’t at the mark it should have been. Whatever burned in me, needed to be spent on knitting.

I’d tell Phillip, “I need to write something…,” but I just didn’t have the energy to get it out of my head, through my hands, and onto this keyboard. “Perhaps I’ll nap and rest instead.”

But, today, we had a turning point that was beautifully captured at lunch. He wasn’t to head to work until about 4pm, so I had plenty of time to put together something of substance for us. With money being low, I made us black beans and rice with whatever I had on hand: the sad half end of a bell pepper about to mold, an onion that had started sprouting, a pinch of thyme, a healthy spoonful of garlic powder, a pinch of sugar, and a splash of red wine vinegar. I let it stew for a nice long while. It was what we had, but that’s the part I want you to remember. THAT was what we HAD.

A few spoonfuls in and he started moaning with glee. “Wow, this is REALLY good!”

“Do you really like it?”

“Yep! You can put this on the list. Make this whenever you want. Love it,” as bits of black bean fell from his beautiful chin to the bowl below.

We smiled and ate black beans and enjoyed ourselves immensely. You could not have told us we were in the financial situation we were. We felt like kings. We were eating heartily and abundantly on beans and rice. And it really was soooo good.

And we had a great time. We were fed. We had this moment, and we had each other. I could write at this moment that life will not always be so challenging. But, I can’t say for certain that this is truth. Perhaps it will be get better, perhaps it will get worse. But, one certainty I do own is that today we had a great time with what we HAD. And it was joyous.

IMG_2589You can bitch and moan and groan about how little you have….or you can gather, be grateful, and love every minute of life’s simple gestures. Enjoy what you HAVE. THIS is what we have. RIGHT now. Let’s not yearn for a moment that has yet to happen, let’s appreciate the ones we are handed now. Let’s enjoy. Let’s be grateful that we have a meal.

To God, and the Universe at large, thank you for giving me a day where I was able to smile heartily at what I have.

I want to write more, but I need to go to bed.

I miss talking to all of you so much. I truly do.

Soon. I’ll be back in better shape soon.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps.

 

 

9 comments

  1. I have another friend (and I do consider you and Phillip friends, and proud to do so) who has deemed this week to be The Week of Attitude of Gratitude. And you have confirmed it.
    Thank you for posting this. It is a timely and needed reminder of how rich I really am, and the kick in the pants to look and see it.
    And I love black beans and rice, aren’t we all lucky such comfort food is accessible!

  2. Sweet dreams and thank you. Oh the humble bean, so good for the heart and soul. Sounds like you can turn a bean every which way but loose.
    Thank you for the gratitude reminder and being present.
    Tomorrow is another day, may they be better and better in every way,
    Helen

  3. You are an inspiration to those of us who need a lesson about appreciating what we have and making The best of it!!!! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

