Some Bears Go Through a Lot

IMG_2662In order to get through the issues that face me, I’ve always relied on my teddy bears. They have kept me fed, brought warmth to my life, kept loneliness at bay. So, I got up at about 3am this morning and worked on this little guy. I wasn’t sure what to think of him with his slightly bruised yarn, and his hints of discoloration. Then it hit me, it dawned on me. Some bears go through a lot of hardship, and they get a little bruised and beat up, but they survive. They do so, beautiful and with determination. This little bear surely looks like he has triumphed through the battles of life. He’s still holding firmly to do his job of loving others.

I’m still working on getting the tax issue under control. Financially, I’m far off. Very far off, as I wait to hear from the IRS about my application for monthly payments. But, every bear that I make get’s me closer to safety, to survival. Every bear born of these hands has a greater purpose than just paying off debts. Their real job is to bring goodness to the world.

He’s made of Lionbrand’s Wool Ease, and ready to ship with a signed card by me. If you’d like to take him, just click here, or on the photo. There is only one.

Hope you all have a wonderful day. (Yeah, I noticed it too…..my tone isn’t as vibrant and hopeful as it has been in the past….)

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps.

11 comments

  1. Hi Greg, Been a while since I last saw you on Bear411. At least I think it was you. Looks like you are doing better than the last time we chatted. Your bears are great and hope to buy one or more soon. Putting a business together and hopefully I can get your bears on my page as well. Can you do rainbow ones? All the best, Murray

  2. Have you tried to get forgiveness from the IRS, or a make down? I forget what its called. But I know they have worked down the amount owed for others.

    1. Yes, I have had that experience myself. They negotiated a payment program for me. However, this was many years ago.

  3. Greg, I know MANY people who have made payments to the IRS. They tend to agree, particularly in hardship cases. There’s also a chance to Offer in Compromise, I believe the term is, but I’m guessing that would require more money than you have right now, but a payment plan should be attainable. Hang in there.

  4. Your bears are lovely. I’m pretty new to the blogging world so I just stumbled upon you randomly… but as both a knitter and someone who deals with a lot of homeless people through my work at a housing association, your story really fascinated me and I admire your determination. I’d love to buy a copy of your book and a bear to help support you – unfortunately I’m in the UK though!

  5. Ditto what Donyu said. I know it has worked for others. Asking the question sometimes yields surprisingly good answers. Plus apology if you have done this already. Very glad you have begun having conversations with them though – and look a real rainbow on your page via Murray up there… Sending all good thoughts❤

  6. I looks like you sold your sweet, battle-weary bear. I’m so pleased! And I am not surprised. While each and every bear or bunny or lion or tiger you make carries with it a little bit of you, this particular bear clearly was an extension of your soul. You are in my prayers, and you continue to be an inspiration.

  7. Dear Gregory… I think you should connect with Barry Klein of Trendsetter yarns here in the Los Angeles area.  Barry is the son of Myrna Klein (more or less retired) who founded this now internationally known and respected yarn manufacturing company. 

    Barry hosts these wonderful knitting cruises (and probably other events I don’t know about) where he offers various knitting classes.  I think you’d be a wonderful guest instructor and speaker on one of these cruises.

     

  8. Hi Donyu, It’s called an offer in compromise. I suggested that when Greg first mentioned his problems with the IRS. Maybe that is what he is working on. I hope so.

  9. one thing the irs knows for sure, if you don’t have much money, the only way to get it is thru a payment plan. it will work. i know. been there done that twice because apparently i’m incapable of learning. but it is scary i know. just don’t ever ignore a letter from them.

Leave a Reply

