IMG_5715

Knitting for a Warmer World

I wanted to thank all of you for your well wishes and prayers. That truly means a lot to me. I am fortunate that I have all of you to make me feel better. Now, I wait two weeks for the molding of my teeth to be complete, at which point I can have my current teeth extracted. I was able to progress from broth, to different sorts of soups pureed in the Magic Bullet, and last night I moved up to eggs. But, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for all of your best wishes for me. Especially at a time when the world has quickly gone angry and cold, with people thrashing back at life. I wish they could feel warmth and love that I feel from you. Perhaps the world would be a touch better if everyone picked up knitting.

There is always a sense of reflection, of meditation as you work through your knits and purls, a higher sense of self awareness is learned, a deeper sense of compassion felt at the edge of the soul. When you become a knitter you think about things a little differently, you approach life with a sense of calm, with an aura of ease. Knitters, I think are a different breed of people. Their knitting usually ends up as gifts for others; they appreciate the natural world moving swiftly through their fingers in the form of fibers.

So, maybe the world would be a better, calmer, more compassionate place if everyone were to learn to knit.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps.

4 comments

  1. So glad you’re moving forward and feeling better. And I agree with your well-said opinion about knitters. I know that my own reactions to outside events have tempered since I became a knitter. I think part of it’s just because I’m getting older and a bit wiser, but I know that having my knitting to turn to gives me that safe place to contemplate while progressing on a project. It calms me, and allows me to take a step back, breathe, and lose the knee-jerk need to lash back.
    The world will always have conflict, but as long as we knitters knit , yogis yoga, runners run, and people find their Zen in whatever manner works for them, there will be pockets of calm and peace. And that’s the world’s saving grace.

  2. I am so happy to hear that you are feeling better and able to eat a larger variety of things! I greatly enjoy your philosophical posts and the eloquent way in which you express your thoughts. Seeing your name in my inbox has become a highlight in my day. Knit on my friend!

Leave a Reply

