IMG_2164

The Threshold

We woke this morning to a crispness.

Ok, I was up at about 2am. I just couldn’t sleep. Not for bad reasons, I just couldn’t wait to get back to work. Back to knitting, back to writing. By the time Phillip was up at 5am, we both were convinced today was the first day we could fling open the windows and allow fresh air into the apartment. Our first “tease” of fall. By 6am, it was a marvelous 71 degrees, and even now it’s around 9am and the windows are inviting in a tasty breeze, without the residue of damp, Floridian humidity. Of course, our Autumn isn’t quite the same as everyone else’s, but if you’ve lived here for a long time you revel the day the air is no longer thicker than a t-bone steak; you love that surprising day you wake to a low in the 70’s.

We started talking about our wedding, which is only two weeks away. Perhaps I should say marriage? There is no “wedding” so to speak. It’ll just be he and I headed to the courthouse on the 22nd, signing the right papers, and coming home bug-eyed, internally screaming, “WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST DO???”🙂 There will be no minister, no doves being let loose, nor even a guest list. Just us and a pen.

Our honeymoon will consist of us spending that weekend having a beer or two and playing cribbage and croquet. We’re not having a reception. We had aimed for the idea of having our families come together for a barbecue, but the list got longer, the expense got greater, and we simply decided a little while ago that a reception wasn’t practical. Every dime, and I do mean every dime, will go towards my teeth and tax bill….and every real married couples desire, an attempt to SAVE.

We weren’t going to fuss and stress over 20 people coming together to chew on ribs, especially if your’s truly was only allowed to eat cottage cheese and broth soaked bread. No thanks. We’ll do that some other day, some other time, after my teeth are tended to, the tax man is no longer dissatisfied, and we have a few dollars set aside for monsoons. (Rainy days? Really? When it rains, it freakin’ pours!)

IMG_2164We want to start our new life together sound, clean, unhinged. We don’t want for much, and it doesn’t take a lot to please us. Like I said, our honeymoon will be us with a six pack and a couple of rounds of cards. That’s all we need from each other: each other. That was the moment I knew this was the man I was going to marry: the moment I knew we neither of us liked big and bombastic….we liked simply BEING with each other. As a matter of fact, when we are together, we don’t do what others would consider “very much.” Like I said, we like to sit with each other, grapple over politics, gossip about the horrible things we see on TV, and play cards. Then, we head to bed, cats quickly pouncing in to claim a preferred space, then go to sleep with a sudden truth that can wake you right up again: ….I found him. We giggle, we pick on each other (I love that part, because I can toss some nice zingers), chide each other for each other’s alleged sloppiness, laugh until we’re beet red in the face…..the fall asleep with a smile.

I imagine the most traditional part our “wedding” will be when we get home. I’m going to insist he carry me over the threshold. And not just because it’s practical (I’m 120lbs, he’s a good 260), but because it’s metaphoric. That man is so defending of me, so protective. He won’t let anyone hurt me. He proudly struts not broad chested since we met so long ago, for when I met him, he seemed to slouch. We’re good for each other in ways that are fundamentally flawed. He urges me to be more playful, I urge him to quit playing his “pokeman go” and fold his laundry. And it works for us.

IMG_2809And as he carries me across the threshold, I’m going to do everything in my power to take care of my little family of ogre and furries. We’re making some changes. There are no more “made to order” bears in my shop. That list is almost finished, So, in my shop, you’ll only see bears that are ready to go TODAY. I think there are two bears left in there and if we get those sold, we can finally pay rent.

In the next few weeks, we’re going to focus all of our time and energy on my children’s book, “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me.”  (Ready in a few weeks). And we want to make it special, hoping THAT book takes US financially over the threshold, not wealthy, just having crossed the threshold into safety.

I have some really cool things in that book. Not just the story itself, but other little things in there I think you will enjoy. I think this book will be a great turning point for us….so much, that I’m already plotting another children’s book after that based on Phillip’s “Strange Friends.”

So, this where the crisp first tease of Autumn has lead me: happily back to work.🙂 Hope you are all well!

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps, and we sure could use your help. Thank you!

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. I had a courthouse wedding/marriage in the U.S., then a wedding/reception back home in Canada. My favourite was the courthouse wedding, where it was just the two of us, looking into each other’s eyes, with no distractions.

    Cherish every moment of your wedding/marriage, bask in the love you have for each other. Sometime down the road, have a reception when you feel the inkling (I’d love to make it down for that!). What is important is that you have each other. Best of luck in the next chapter of your journey together.❤

  2. Congrats on your wedding! Whether it is big and fancy or a trip to courthouse doesn’t matter. It’s still your wedding and the only people you have to please are you and Philip! May you have many, many happy years together! Keeps us posted on the Olympic crochet match.

    Zanna
    P.S. Tell Philip I’m half way thru level 21 and have 82 in my Pokedex. And yes, socks need to come first!🙂

Leave a Reply

