vlcsnap-2016-03-10-08h42m30s452

For My Friends in the UK

I’ve mentioned it before, but I often must admit, I’ve spent many years spending Saturdays in Britain.

vlcsnap-2016-03-10-08h42m30s452Throughout this journey of mine, I have found that while some become big in Japan, I’m proud to say I seem to have made a little mark in the UK. I’ve been in a couple of magazines, and sold teddy bears and books to quite a few people there. Perhaps, as E.M. Forster says, “You see? It was ancestral voices calling….”

So, I just wanted to take a moment on this perfectly beautiful and crisp Saturday to thank all of the wonderful people of Britain that have taken note of my work. I wish I could be there with you. Would love to take a trip to the Isle of Wight. Maybe some day.🙂 Maybe I’ll get the chance to step the green grass in a shepherd’s field as his flock grazes beside me. Perhaps I’ll one day get the chance to sit quietly beside you in a field of blooming wildflowers and hear you tell me about your day. Maybe one day I’ll be afforded the opportunity to wake with the grace of the piercing sunlight in a little village that still believes that big, welcoming smiles get more done than screaming voices.

I can safely say, as Mrs. Wilcox once put it, “Charles is like me, you see. He truly loves England…..He’s on a motoring tour in Yorkshire.” That’s the England I wish to someday see….

A great many thanks to all of you in England. Thank you for welcoming me into your homes and hearts, for embracing me, and appreciating my work, and for treating me not as a foreigner, but as your friend.

I can’t tell you what that means to me.🙂

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps! Thank you!

 

 

16 comments

  1. Fields a plenty down here in Devon. Blue Sky’s can be a challenge though! And we have our share of grumpy old men in our villages. 😃

  2. UK isn’t only England Gregory and you would be assured a warm welcome in Bonnie Scotland. We have many unspoilt beaches and unbelievable scenery, plus fantastic wildlife. Bagpipes, kilts, heather, tartan, whisky, shortbread, the list goes on. And many fans of Mad Man Knitting. 🙂

  3. As a lucky resident of the beautiful Isle of Wight, we would welcome you with open arms…would love to share a fish and chip supper and a nice cup of tea with you whilst watching the sun go down over the Solent…I do hope your dreams come true one day very soon…❤ xx

  4. Scotland is devastatingly beautiful; also Wales and Ireland! I live opposite the Isle of Wight, in the New Forest (and by New we mean 1,000 years old!) and you are welcome any time my friend. I love your writing and it’s so kind of you to write so lovingly of the British!

  5. I have been to many places in England, Cornwall being one of my favorite areas. I have been to the Isle of Wight, to Wales and Scotland, but I was not famous like you Gregory, nor was the Internet as active as it is today, so i did not have people welcoming me to visit. Even so, I have very fond memories of my five trips to Great Britain. I have three pet stones who followed me home from St. Ives on the Cornish coast. I took them back home one time, put them on the sand of the beach and made their photo, but they begged to return with me back to my home and i let them. Since then they have have had their photo made in various places across the United States, from the stage of Radio City Music Hall in NYC to Pebble Beach in Monterrey, California.

Leave a Reply

