IMG_1548

Getting to Meet All of You.

So, we’ve been mulling over the idea of doing a book tour for “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me,” which, as some of you may know, is rather difficult for me. It’s not easy for me to be in public, and I don’t go out very often. I’m at Publix by 7am, then back home, and it is quite rare for me to leave again. There is a three block radius that I rarely shy from. And we picked this particular apartment because of that. The grocery store is just over there, and beyond those tall oaks a few streets over is the little church I like with the little thrift store where I get my books to read. The post office picks up my packages, so I don’t have to go there, and anything else I need is beautifully supplied thanks to the internet. So, doing a book tour would be quite like throwing a cat in the bathtub and expecting serenity. However, I would like to the opportunity to meet all of you. I really would like that.

I feel if I can take baby steps, then maybe I could eventually go so far as doing a full tour across the States. If book sales for “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me” get going, maybe I could rent out a little space somewhere to do a live reading and a get together here in Orlando some time in October. I feel if I can take baby steps, then maybe I could eventually go so far as doing a full tour across the States. I wouldn’t need security. That’s what Phillip is for. (He’s terribly protective, you know).

I’m sure we can come up with something, if the book does well enough. All kinds of ideas are at the ready, and being creative about the how’s and why’s can really move mountains. I really do want to get a chance to meet all of you. You’ve all been so very kind. And I want to get that beautiful moment where I get to look into all of your eyes, shake your hands, hug you and say, “Thank you for saving me….”

 

9 comments

  1. Maybe check with a local yarn shop. They may be willing to host a reading and/or sell your book. That way it wouldn’t be too far out of your safe zone and you know that it should be a welcoming audience.

  2. A yarn story, a book store, the library, a church, all host readings and will do so for free. I went to one at a pizza parlor last month. Getting out would be good.

  3. Also consider a press release with your local community/public radio station/newspaper/or an independent bookshop–perhaps? Or maybe a question and answer IM session on goodreads.com (this would allow orders through Amazon, I believe). Also, depending on your comfort level, perhaps check with a couple safe/welcoming church groups–as sometimes there are craft groups there.

    Anyway, great news about your book; excited to hear you dreaming about it.🙂

  4. I second everyone’s earlier suggestions! Good to start small so you won’t get overwhelmed. LOVE the idea of going to yarn stores, as we are a friendly bunch. hugs.

  5. In case no one has said it lately, “Thank you, Gregory, for helping to save us every time you type a word or knit a stitch. And Philip, too.”

    Sadly knitting a bear of my own has become more than I can do right now, but I can still crochet, and every time I think of your bears and Philip’s little critters, I refuse to give up, and I keep on hooking!

    Hugs to you, both. You are proof positive that anything is possible, especially if you take it one day at a time.🙂

  6. for the teeth ,  try rinsing your mouth with a tablespoon of coconut oil every night for 20 min, then spit it out.

Leave a Reply

