img_2963

You Know How Rabbits Can Be

What a tough day yesterday was, ahhh, but what a good thing a bath can be. I took my Calvin and Hobbes, drew a bath, and sat there and let it all go away….and once I was dressed in my pajamas, I came outside to find the rabbit from my story reading my book. I mentioned when I saw him, “I thought it was the elephant that did all the reading….” Rabbit quietly replied while still scanning the pages, “Yeah, but people are talking, you know. Tsk, tsk, tsk. You’re gonna get yourself in trouble, you know…So, I thought I’d see what all the hullabaloo was about. I thought I’d read your book and see for myself. Did you really have to say that about me? Honestly? Do you really think I’m like that?”

“Well, I’m sorry, Rabbit, but you DO like to gossip.”

“Hmmm. Well, if you don’t mind, I’d like to finish the story. I didn’t know it was going to be a tell all about us and the other animals.”

“I just write what I see, my friend.”

img_2961“Now, from out of the closet, from under a pile of clothes and toys, a rabbit appeared. But, this rabbit wasn’t like the ones you usually see. You imagine them to be brown, or tan, or maybe a little grey, but this bunny was different colors, unusual colors for a rabbit. He had been knit up in different stripes in different colors. Each of his long ears were also a different color, as one flopped forward, the other falling back behind his head.

You might also imagine that rabbits and bunnies are usually bouncing and hopping here and there. But, this rabbit did no such thing. As a matter of fact, he lurked slowly out of the closet, calmly stepped one leg at a time to the edge of the bed where the lion awaited him. He motioned for the lion to come closer: “I don’t want to spread rumors, but is it safe for the others to come out now, too?”

img_2963You know how rabbits can be. Despite this being no ordinary looking rabbit, he still had a rabbit’s heart, and did best what rabbit’s do: they love to spread stories. They love to run from glen to glen telling everyone what they’ve seen or heard. One rabbit tells another, then that rabbit tells his friends. The next thing you now, you have a chatterbox of bunnies out in the forest, all spreading rumors and only sometimes truths…”

From “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me.”

If you’d like Rabbit, click here.

teddyfrontSigned Hardcover first editions are here.

Paperback versions from amazon are here.

Instant download in pdf available here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps! Thank you!

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

