I Needed to Hear This….

img_2949I receive a lot of emails of encouragement, but I received one earlier this morning that had me nearly weeping.

“Truly, a ‘Teddy Bear That Saved Me.’ We received your bear today.  I had intended to put it away and bring it out for the baby as a gift for Hanukkah or Christmas.  Yet, yesterday, unexpectedly, we had to put our 10 year old hound down.  My son was devastated.  He wouldn’t let my husband leave with her, and screamed and cried and would not calm down.  I remembered the box that had just arrived.  I opened it and gave him the bear and he instantly calmed down.  He ran upstairs to get another stuffed animal to give to the dog to keep her company when she went to the doctor.  He slept with this new bear and the old one that you knitted for him 5 years ago (!).  Both are named ‘Blue.’ I truly believe it was the only reason that he survived the night.  So, thank you!  Your bears have magic powers.”

And that is why I do this. This is why I push so hard to put something of value into the world. This is why I could have possibly pursued one million options in my life, but this is the one path that gave me a purpose. I truly felt like crying when I read that email. I needed to hear that. I needed to be reminded to stay strong, push on, and knit with a purpose.

teddyfrontBe sure to check out my new book.

Signed Hardcover first editions are here.

Paperback versions from amazon are here.

Instant download in pdf available here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps! Thank you!

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. This gave me chills, Gregory. I am not in line with, nor do I understand, your political leanings; but our country is not about politics. It’s about people. Which is why I don’t understand, I guess, but whatever. The point is you are a good person with a big heart and a strong will to make the world a better place: one bear, one blog post at a time. You are everyman/woman, just doing your small part. You give me hope for this post-election divided country. From one writer to another, we make a difference.

  2. Priceless….and continue being yourself and doing what you’re doing, Gregory! For every “supporter” you might have lost, you will quickly gain others.

  3. I am glad you got this confirmation of the importance of what you do. I am still waiting for the right person to give “my ” bear to. When that happens I will let you know.

  4. Just to also let you know that your teddy bears have multiplied and grown in their comfort to others…

    I purchased your pattern last year. I knit and absolutely love your bears. They are fun to knit. I have knitted more than 20 bears so far (I did “tweek” the pattern a little) and give them to a group that gives teddy bears to foster kids so they will have something that is their own to love and always have with them for comfort and security in their topsy-turvy world of uncertainty. Hearing back from the group warms my heart. The little ones immediately hug and hold on to their teddies. It gives them love and safety they so often feel is lost.

    So, you see, your bears save more people than you think…our most vulnerable children.

    Penni C

Leave a Reply

