14444957_10209216621029208_2262456536088827315_o

The Power of a Smile

Have I told you how much I love my husband? He didn’t have the easiest childhood, didn’t have the best life growing up. He’s a wonderful man, but he’s more endearing when he is youthful. I strive my best to make sure he gets to use those dimples as often as he can. He gets to shed whatever sadness the past taints him with, and gets to relive, blossom, and enjoy a childhood he never had.

Phillip has so thoroughly enjoyed how much you love his Strange Friends. He loves hearing from you, loves knowing how much you really appreciate his creativity. He had the best day today. All of his Strange Friends are selling, and he got to be a kid again for a moment. Not in the way his memory serves him, but in a way that makes all the hard work worth while. He got to enjoy himself today. Got to smile and I can’t tell you how much I love it when he smiles.

We found out today that my book has sold in really great numbers to the Netherlands, to Germany, with a nice couple of copies heading to the UK, and a really nice quantity heading to the west coast of the US. His Strange Friends are beginning to make the same treks. Our teddy bears, books, and Strange Friends are all finally beginning to move across the globe. And for that, he was so giddy, so excited to see that the work he and I have done are finally allowing him a smile that erases history, and cements a great future for the both of us. He was like a 12 year old in a theme park, and I can’t thank you enough for helping me put that smile on his face.

There are many evenings where I think I do this for us, but to be truthful, I work this hard for him. Because I want to give him that life he was robbed of. A life of enjoyment, family, home cooked dinners, and tender hugs. A life of hope, of care, of a skinny man and two furries at his side, always willing to battle for him, always there for him. A life where the greatest reward is the end of the day, when the four of us are curled in bed, under the covers, the cold world unable to touch all of us, with our full bellies, and warm quilts. We don’t need much in life, just that blessing of comfort and safety, of love and attachment.

I know now that the greatest combatant to a world grown dark is the bright light of a smile you can give someone.

So, thank you all so much for allowing me to give my husband a smile today. I could not have done it without you.

Be sure to check out the book, “The Teddy Bear That Saved Me.”

teddyfrontSigned Hardcover first editions are here.

Paperback versions from amazon are here.

Instant download in pdf available here.

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps! Thank you!

3 comments

  1. Although I wouldn’t be caught dead in that hat, I couldn’t help but smile when I saw Phillip. I’m not a hat person, but they are all the rage here in Pa., especially with the balls hanging off the ends of the strings. Never saw any until I moved here. Stopped me in my tracks the first time…lol. Phillip’s strange friends are as awesome as all the animals in your book, Gregory. Kudos to you both, because you both deserve it. I love how you mentioned one of his strange friends in your book. (The book is awesome, by the way!)🙂

Leave a Reply

