IMG_1820

“Woe is Me,” Will Not Help You…

IMG_1823An open letter to Tiger:
Dear Tiger,
It has come to my attention that you will not meet with me. I caught this photo of you scurrying off when I arrived to talk. I assume this is because of how you feel you were portrayed in my book. If I offended you, I deeply apologize. However, in my own defense, I must say that of all the knit animals, you truly did epitomize a certain importance when it comes to bonding that I wanted to portray. You were the first of Jackson’s favorites. I know how much you loved him, and I know how much he adored you. The incident that left you lost in the closet was important to the book, because it proved how much we can lose friends for reasons beyond our control. I am sorry if you felt that I gave the impression that you were overly sensitive about the subject. However, it was by your own admission that you never made arrangements before the “Moth Crisis” to reconcile with Jackson, and it was obviously, very important to note. When he needed you, you came to his rescue, and for that you should be applauded.

However, your “woe is me” attitude, and refusal to meet with me is sadly not helping things much. I am sorry that we disagree on so many things that I have written about you in my book, however, I do hope that we can at some point begin a dialogue, and at some point, become true friends. In the meantime, you will have to understand why I was insistent on being truthful when writing about you in the book in the way that I did…..for your selflessness did eventually rear it’s head, you came through, and you helped Jackson to recover.

You have a great opportunity now to prove to the world that you can take criticism, rise above it, and do more noble things, despite what a writer like myself could ever say about a Tiger as impressive as you. We should come together, be kind to one another, and remember the greater accomplishment was not our own interests, but of those of a sick boy.

Should you ask for me, I’ll be here. In the meantime, know that I meant no harm, but only did my best to write the truth about how you and the other knit animals attempted to sacrifice yourself to save a sick boy. I applaude you for that, but concern myself with your own worrisome sorrows. My portrayal of you, Tiger, is not the issue.

My best,

Gregory Patrick

If you’d like to know why the knit Tiger is so bitter with me, you should read how I wrote about him in my book. 

teddyfrontSigned Hardcover First Editions are here.

Paperback versions from amazon are here.

Instant download in pdf available here.

 

5 comments

    1. Tiger pattern is available on Ravelry.

      I’m still working on Gregory to create the patterns for the Elephant and the Lion…I might wear him down eventually. LOL

  1. I can’t help but think you need to create and release the patterns for elephant and lion, so that kids can use the toys to build on the story in the book for themselves…..know what I mean?

    We have a tiger, bunny and bear patterns…but we also need these other character knits.

  2. I haven’t had time to read more of the book but I have so enjoyed the interviews with the characters. Your sense of whimsy brings me great delight and I cannot wait to read more about them in the book.

Leave a Reply

