Truth in a Few Knitted Stitches

img_1013When I was knitting in my homeless days, my mind had been cleared of material objectification. My soul had been washed of the shiny undulations of social stigmas. My knitting had purged from me everything that I once thought important, only to replace it with unimaginable simplicity: that life was more than the trappings I had pursued before. Things could easily be taken away again, but the experienced contemplation I gained in stitches was mine forever.

As my hands swiftly purled, the yarn softly swarming through my fingers in an arachnid fashion, these fingers became spinnerets of knitted things, while my soul hurried along behind, weaving and looming a greater sense of purpose. I wasn’t simply knitting a teddy bear, I was knitting a message about what I had learned about compassion and care, compromise and concern. I was knitting a letter to someone in the form of a teddy bear, a letter that remarked quietly on the connection between myself and the rest of the world, a letter penned in wool that asked to be loved.

This is what I wanted the world to hear, to read, to see and live and be inspired by. Your moments and actions, no matter how simple, produce great waves that heal or harm. And I was hoping to not only heal myself by knitting, but to heal anyone else out in the world who needed only a moment of kindness and connection with one of my teddy bears.

This is what I thought we were going to talk about, this is why I thought I had received so much instant attention, these are the messages people need to hear. But the producer from the Tyra Banks Show asked me instead, “So, did you ever eat out of a trash can?”

From the book, “Man Vs Skein-The Confessions of a Male Knitter.”

If you appreciate this blog and would like for it continue, please donate. Every single bit helps! Thank you! 

 

14 comments

  1. I’ve no idea who Tyra Banks is. I suppose she is a news person or some kind of tv personality? Anyway, sounds like she was looking for something sensational to pursue. Our crafting, be it knitting, crocheting, sewing, needs to be purposeful, I think. And if that purpose is to communicate all the wonderful things you mentioned in your post, then continue to go for it. It’s noble. I am part of a prayer shawl ministry here in Tennessee. Our shawls are not the most beautiful but they are given with meaning and purpose. They represent the prayers of believers for someone who is suffering. And oten shawl recipients will keep their shawls close by so that when things get rough or they need encouragement again, they can take hold of it and remember that they are loved. Don’t worry about that lady’s question. That question signals a shallowness in her life.

    1. If you’re truly a Christian, Marge, you might want to re-consider passing judgement on people whom you’ve never met and whom you know absolutely nothing about. Shallowness in my life ….. really? I was trying to show interest and enthusiasm in Gregory’s new book.

  2. What an insensitive question to ask you. There is something we learn when striped down to the bare minimum and have no where else to go. I have not been homeless, I don’t compare myself to what you have been through dear man. I did reach the end of my rope in a different fashion and it was only my faith that sustained me. Once I started to gain ground again, I thought about things that I hadn’t done or had put off and decided No More! I will not put off my life anymore, I am going to live it. You inspire me, you have from the moment I first read your blog. Hugs!

  3. Lucie, I wasn’t judging you. I was encouraging Gregory to continue on the path laid before him and not to worry or fret about that question. I thought the question that the producer asked showed shallowness, not you. I’m sorry if you misread.

    1. Ooooh, you meant the question from the producer! I’m so sorry, I misunderstood. You’re quite right though, that was a rather rude question.

Leave a Reply

