Come Out of the Box, Sweetheart

I had the most amazing argument with Phillip yesterday. Imagine this: he’s been busy working up a new Strange Friend and suddenly I hear, “Damn!” I asked what was wrong and he replied, “I’ve run out of this yarn! I can’t finish him!” I just at him oddly. “Use a different color.”

“I can’t do that! It wouldn’t look right.”

“Dude, have you seen your Strange Friends? Have you not figured out yet that YOU can make them any way that you want? That there are no rules?”

“I get that, but there is a certain formula I follow.”

“Fine. What else do you have to do?”

“I have a body, a head and two limbs.”

“Who says he needs more limbs?”

“ARE YOU CRAZY?”

“Fine. Do what you want. Agonize over it. I don’t care…..”

So, for hours, it was this back and forth of ideas of how to make it work, with all of my suggestions being too far out of the box, too unrestrained, too out of control and against the working miracle that is the making of a Strange Friend.

I suggested he turn him upside down. “Yeah, and then move the little limbs over here, or maybe over there, or down here. Play with it.”

Finally he reappears with the finished product. Something we like to call, “The Ghost of a Mr. Chicken.” And Phillip FINALLY got the idea. Play around with it. It’s an art, a craft, there is no formula. “I have to admit,” he said. “I was terrified to go off my usual track.”

But, there you have it. A new idea, a new way of thinking. Thanks to a little improvising. Cheers! Phillip has some other new Strange Friends in the shop you should check out, too. Just click here.

Peace everyone….and come out of the box!

 

If  you like this blog and would like to help us keep it going, please donate. Every dollar helps! Thank you!

3 comments

  1. He looks wonderful just the way he is. If you ever run into that problem again, you could crochet the bottom limbs in a different color, crochet two long chains to act as suspenders and make him into a Strange Friend wearing pants (rofl).

  2. I LOVE the Ghost of Mr. Chicken! You definitely can use that model for lots of other great Strange Friends. And Lucie’s idea to make a Strange Friend with pants – Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

